Week 13 Weekly Contest: My Best Day on Campus (50% to CampusConnect)

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

F9B76C45-30FC-4FC7-9827-07869FDB11E7.jpeg

This might not be your usual story and some might look down on it but for a student struggling to keep his mental health intact, it’s a big deal to me.

Greetings everyone.

This is my entry to the 13th Weekly contest on Campus Connect and I’ll be sharing a short story about my best day on campus.

I’m a 300L student of Medical Biochemistry, University of Nigeria Enugu Campus (UNEC). If you’re familiar with UNN, then you’ll know what UNEC is all about: the massive pressure, the continuous urge to study all the time because of the scary stories you’ve heard, the general level of “over-seriousness” among students. It’s really tough.

My best day on campus was last semester, early in July when I was preparing for Carbohydrate Metabolism test (METAB is a course that records mass failure every session). I was a bit discouraged because I hadn’t quite gotten a strong grip on the course and I felt very unprepared. Coupled with that, I was dealing with some other personal challenges and I just wasn’t 100% happy in school. Preparing to go for night class with my friend 2 nights before the test date, I was in dire need of some motivation.

Also let me add that before that time, I hadn’t seen any of my first semester results so I didn’t even know if my study technique was effective or not. That very evening, almost as if someone (God) designed it, the first result from first semester came out. I became very tense, for two reasons. First off, I was trying to prepare for a test in a course that I had learned students fail massively, so I was trying to remain focused on the task at hand and not lose the little zeal I had in me. And secondly, the result that came out was in Physiology! (which is another dreadful course in the College of Medicine).

My curiosity eventually outweighed my tension and I checked what I scored. Lo and behold; I scored an A! AN A!! That was exactly what I needed at that point in time. It was assurance that my reading technique was spot on and it gave me the confidence I needed to attack my test head on. A small feat to some, but a huge huge victory for me.

And that was my best day on campus



Thanks to Campus Connect for the opportunity to share this story.

Sort:  

This is awesome. It is mainly those that have been to a higher institution in Nigeria that will relate well with your experience.

Well-done bro, I wish you more success and strength.

Aluta Continua, Victoria Ascerta.

Thank you big man 🙏🏾

 3 years ago 

I can imagine the ecstasy of having A as a grade , especially courses with higher credit hour.

Nice learning about your best day in campus

Thank you boss

 3 years ago 

This post has been analyzed with the plagiarism detector and we have determined that it is 100% original, congratulations, it is still good content. Thank you for being active in our community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32