Passing out of NYSC: My NYSC story

in CampusConnect2 years ago

IMG_20220428_132412_581.jpg

IMG_20220428_112505_355.jpg

Greetings to you my colleagues, I am among the corp members that passed out of NYSC on 28th April, 2022. Today I will be sharing with us some of my NYSC experiences and achievements.

Last year, after applying for NYSC, I received an email in May inviting me for national service in Rivers State. The service really started when I was travelling to Rivers State where I was posted to serve. The vehicle I entered had issues on the way, causing me to arrive around 8:00 PM in Rivers State. Guess what? there was also curfew in Rivers State as at then, so boarding a vehicle to the orientation camp was very difficult because soldiers were patrolling the roads to ensure the curfew was enforced. I had to trek with my luggage from Eleme junction which is still far from the NYSC orientation camp. Everywhere was dark and lonely, no vehicles around except the military patrol vehicles. That was my first time in Rivers State and I don't have any family member or friend residing there. I was praying in my heart and crying at the same time, for God to send me a helper. I was really helpless. After sometime, God indeed sent a helper - a particular driver came out from no where with an Audi car and shouted - come in, don't you know that this road is dangerous, I and few people walking with me jumped and entered. I felt relieved. He carried us to trailer park which is quite close to the orientation camp. What shocked me was that we didn't meet any of the military patrol vehicles on the way, because if we had met them, they will stop us and Chase the driver back. We tried paying the driver handsomely but he refused and insisted we should continue our trip - another shock! From the Trailer park, I board a motorcycle to the orientation camp. I actually arrived there by 9:57 pm and camp lights out by 10:00 PM. The officials couldn't believe, I was actually posted there considering the time I arrived. I narrated what happened to the officials, presented my posting letter and they allowed me in but they were still in disbelief 😄. In my heart, I was thanking God, rethinking everything that had happened. I successfully completed the orientation course and was posted to community comprehensive secondary School, Nonwa, Rivers State as my place of primary assignment. I resumed my job there and I discovered that some of the students were sitting on the classroom floor because of lack of seats. I was opportuned to be the leader of the charity Community development service group. So I met with some notable people in the community, some corp members and my own funds too and I was able to construct 12 long classroom seats (5 seater capacity) for the school. I also discovered that some farmers in the community produce poor farm yields because of lack of fertilizer which they can't afford. I also raised funds with some corpers and we empowered more than 30 farmers each in Bunu and Gbene-ue communities with crop fertilizers. I also participated in some other volunteer service in the communities around in the church in the community.
During my service year, I have really learnt a lot and I thank God for all the experiences and encounters and I believe the best is yet to come. Please if you are still serving or yet to serve, make it an impactful. In our various positions, let us put the people we are serving at heart and with that we will for sure have a better society for all.
Attached are some pictures from my services.
Thank you my people 🙌🥰

IMG_20220125_113511_461.jpg

IMG_20220124_143444_209.jpg

IMG_20220125_114719_793.jpg

IMG_20220222_114423_259.jpg

IMG_20220222_111435_668.jpg

IMG_20220124_142547_181.jpg

FB_IMG_16515955640026711.jpg

FB_IMG_16515956139324459.jpg

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Congratulations on your successful pass out.

 2 years ago 

Am so happy you share this story with us here..

Nice post, I enjoy reading it

 2 years ago 

@emyy, Thanks for sharing with us on @campusconnect , Continue sharing your quality contents with us here we love and appreciate your effort ,Thanks

REMARKS;

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveNO
#club5050YES
DelegationNO
Bot-freeYES
BENEFICIARYNO

 2 years ago 

Congratulations to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71