A CONTEST ENTRY ON MY FAVOURITE SUBJECT BY@emyekanem

in CampusConnect3 years ago

Hello everyone,
It's a pleasure being a part of this contest. Thank you very much @davosimple for organizing a contest like this. It sure will help me express myself more than I used to, whenever I was given an essay topic like this in secondary school with limited space.

First and foremost, the term, 'favourite subject', can be defined as that subject that is best liked or most enjoyed. Or that which is most preferable to others.

Everyone has that subject they love more. But like our teachers used to say, " you have to make all subject your favourite." I decided to follow their adage but still, there was this subject I enjoyed most and I never thought of boycotting it even though I did to others. It is none other than the almighty ENGLISH LANGUAGE.

images (4).jpg
source

I attended this class whenever and wherever it is held as if my whole life depended on it. I mean, I love it with all my heart.

#####HOW DID THE COURSE OR SUBJECT BECOME YOUR FAVOURITE

Lemme just tell you how it all started. Before I began secondary school, I loved English Language but it wasn't my favourite. It
became my favorite in my sss3 where I met a loving, kindhearted and strict teacher by name, Michael Bassey.

At first, I was scared of having him teach us due to the rumours I've always heard from the senior students. But he wasn't that bad when I got to know him.

Mr. Michael Bassey made this subject simple as anything simple. I could understand with ease the topics(concord, sounds, summary, etc) I was never able to understand and assimilate in other sss classes. I was like, "wow
[5/19, 14:48] Nikibaby🥰🥰: !! This is the most ever. Why then didn't it occur to me all those times. Or was it the teacher?"

#####WHY DID THE COURSE OR SUBJECT BECOME YOUR FAVOURITE?

This subject became my favourite because everything about it is just what is happening in our everyday lives. You need to have a fair knowledge of English and it's usage to be able to communicate fluently.

I'm not saying you will be unable to speak fluently if you don't study English. But there are some aspects of English, students of other departments will not have any idea of except he or she studies English.

So, Mr. Michael Bassey usually gave us classwork every class period (whether during classes or 5min before class end) to test our intellectual abilities. And we dare not fail any. Each one failed equals 2 strokes of the cane. He doesn't even stress himself when lashing because the cane itself knows what to do(I don't know if he normally rubs pepper on the Cane)🤣🤣

I didn't get to make English my favourite by force. It just occurred to me that it is because of the joy I feel inside of me whenever it's time for the class. The class usually gives me happiness. Kudos to my teacher because his efforts has been useful to me now in the University.

I never planned on studying my favourite subject as a course in the University because of my passion. I had in mind to study Communication Art but as the Lord wanted, I didn't have a choice. My course is a combination of English and Literature which is English and Literary Study.

I love reading novels but not bulky ones or novels with very tiny characters(they really put me off). But what do I do? Make it one of my favourites by force.

#####HOW YOU ALWAYS FEEL WHEN YOU UNAVOIDABLY MISS THE CLASS

Boycotting that class by then wasn't a good idea to me at all, even now. If I miss that class unavoidably, my mind won't be at rest till I attend it when next we have it. The class has always been an interesting one because of Mr. MB(as he was fondly called).

And I know he always made sure he makes the class interesting. He is really a comedian and a good actor. He makes the class fun while teaching by telling real life and make up stories. I keep imagining how he gets all of these in his head. Telling new stories every class period and linking it to the topic he is teaching is something I can't afford missing

Therefore missing a class as such unavoidably or avoidably is like missing the most important class for that day. It angered my heart the day I missed that class due to an issue I had with the compound master for not finding the class waste basket. It really wasn't funny at all. Forty minutes was too short a time for an interesting class as such and I missed it😭😭

So I decided to do everything possible to make sure I don't miss that class for any reason.

It was really nice sharing this with you all.
Thanks once again for reading my entry on this contest.
A very special thanks goes to @davosimple ❤❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42