Good people still exist

in CampusConnect3 years ago

IMG_20210411_121031_4.jpg

On the 19th of April 2019, I travelled to Nasarawa State to write an undercover examination: I enrolled on a task to write another jamb without the consent of my sponsor.

After I told my mum that I needed to change my institution, she joined in prayer, because it was hard for her to stop me.

I was at Doma in Lafia the capital of Nasarawa State at 2:14 pm thereabout; this is somewhere I have never been before. My paper was the next day, it was risky leaving the next day to take my exams since I wasn’t conversant with the environment, so it was needful I go a before my exams.

I have heard of situations that people miss their exams because they had a little problem on the road.
I was at St John Bosco Secondary School Doma around 3:25 pm. When we reached there, we heard another story.

Before going I heard that the school management was going to provide some classrooms to those staying in other states to camp a day to their exams.
After all the rushing, the school management said that provision was not available, that we won’t be allowed to enter except when it’s our exam time.

It was there I knew what homeless people faced. I had no option but to sleep in one uncompleted building.

When I was looking for which best building would be suitable for me, my mum called.
“ pee.. pee! How far, how’s the place?” she asked. “you did not call me as you promised.”
“Sorry mummy! It wasn't long I arrived,” I replied. “Network is poor here that’s why!”
“Ok then. Hope they have given you where to stay as they said?” she asked.
After a long pause, I replied to her…... “Yes, ma! They have given us, and we are fine here.” I lied.
“Ok just make sure you stay safe and be vigilant, I would continue praying for you,” she said, as she hanged up.

If I say I walked the whole Doma that day, I wouldn’t be lying either, because I walked to and fro looking for where to sleep.
In a long run, I came back to the school gate, to see if they would allow the patient one’s inside. But here the patient dog would still eat nothing!

I overheard some guys talking so I joined them, one suggested we camp in the hotel, but the money I had left wasn’t enough to even contribute because I did not see this coming. When those that could afford the hotel went, one amongst us suggested that we look for the nearest catholic church to sleep over: I think they would allow us to stay if they hear our situation.

So we began trekking to the catholic church.
We sat under a big tree that has benches; some lay down because of the stress we went through.

At around 6:30 pm they rang the bell, we sat thinking it was for Angelus, not until security told us that they want to lock the gate, that we should leave the premises. We explained our situation to him, but he said he couldn’t help, he was doing his job.

It was there I knew that Motivation can’t help again, I had to face the reality. While leaving the premises, I made a simple prayer that God should protect me and make me see the next day, and if he can still send help, I would still appreciate it. Just a short prayer.

As we were about approaching the school, a car stopped in our front and here came the voice of a man we did not know.
“….. where are you people going to?” he asked. “Are you the guys they asked me to pick?”

“Uhmm no, we are not from this town!” I replied. “Ask those people over there,” I pointed to one area where they prepared hot tea (Mai Shayi)

“Are you not the boys that came to write your exams tomorrow?” he asked.
We looked at ourselves surprisingly. None of us made any call for help, because we knew none was going to come.

“Yes sir, we came for the exams! But we are many that came for the exams, who exactly are you looking for?” one of us asked.

The man came down and laughed a little. Then he began narrating.

“ A friend of mine, called me from Abuja that his brother came to Doma to write his exams, but he was not allowed to enter the school, because he was restricted. So he instructed me to camp his brother for the night. When I called him to know where exactly he was, he described it to me…”

While he was talking, we looked at ourselves and our body language could say that we were not interested in his long speech.

He continued. “When I reached, I discovered he has booked a hotel, so it was needful he stay there since he has paid for the night; moreover their security is good. When I wanted going he called me back and explained that if I pass that school I would see Four boys sitting with their bag, they also have the same problem as his, but he would be glad if I assist them,” He said. “ I have been looking for you guys, was already on my way going till I met you guys.”

The speech silenced us. So we entered his car, and he drove straight to his house.
He excused us that he would sleep with a friend for tonight, so we should feel free.
“In case you want to use the restroom, it's over there," he pointed. "If you want to bath, there’s soap there also,” he said. Feel free! It's your house.

As if that was not enough he went out and got food for us with drinks, that we should eat and rest well, since we had exams the next day.

The next day he drove us to the Venue, and gave us N500 each; he stated that even if we don't see again, we should stay safe.
" Success in your exams. I would have done more for you guys, but things are tight now," he said.

"THANK YOU SO MUCH SIR!!!" we thanked him, as we watched him drive down the road.

This was one day I would never forget. Let me just save this here for future purposes.

They are still good people out there.

Thanks and remain blessed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57