THERE IS NO LIMIT TO WHAT YOU CAN ACHIEVE

in CampusConnect3 years ago

IMG-20210907-WA0009.jpg
On Friday the 6th of August 2021, that’s precisely about a month ago, I got a call from an unknown number at about 8:15pm. Although I missed the first call from the strange number, it later called back about 3 minutes later and I picked up with hesitation. The voice was a deep, brash manly tone that left me wondering within a split second, who I was speaking with. The unknown voice politely exchanged the evenings pleasantries with me and carefully asked if he was speaking with “Emediong”.

IMG-20210907-WA0010.jpg
I sluggishly answered “yes” with curiosity, and he quickly gave me a response that ignited shock in my very bones. He replied by informing me that he was from an NGO (None Governmental Organisation) – The ReligionNext Group and they were partnering with the Lions Club District 4042, The Red Cross, WHO and other Non-profit Organizations, to host an event celebrating the international youth day, of which I have been invited as the guest speaker.

IMG-20210907-WA0011.jpg

I certainly froze at the spot, because I wondered how got my phone contact, how he knew about me, and for the fact that I’ve never been invited as a guest speaker, I wondered how he was certain that I would be able to deliver effectively at such a huge occasion.
He however cleared me of my doubt and subdued my curiosity by informing me that I was recommended by my own Head of Department at the University, and the topic of the event was “Transforming food Systems: Youth innovations in human and planetary health”, and that I have only a week to prepare for the event (which was to scheduled to hold on the 12th of August) and that I can willing decline the offer and evade the responsibility if I feel I am incapable of handling it.

IMG-20210907-WA0015.jpg
After speaking with the man that night and eventually getting to know the topic of the event, I was left to fight the battle of anxiety, fear and self-doubt. I looked at the fact that I naturally shy away from public appearances and also that I was at that moment severely busy with my final year research project.

IMG-20210907-WA0013.jpg

To cut the long story short, the following day, I eventually accepted the task reluctantly and began absolute preparations towards the event. I subsequently met with some senior lecturers who mentored me and helped me gain self-confidence and improve myself esteem.

IMG-20210907-WA0018.jpg
On that day, I made my very first public lecture with ease and style, got a standing ovation, all thanks to the fact that I didn’t shirk that responsibility.

IMG-20210907-WA0012.jpg

This little occurrence had taught me a whole lot of interesting of which I charge you, fellow steemians, to embrace. it taught me most importantly that success can only be achieved if opportunity meet with preparation. That nobody is very insignificant to make a notable difference.

IMG-20210907-WA0015.jpg
It also made me understand that people are watching my very activities and attitudes, meaning that I should live my life at the very best, both in secret and in the public. Therefore I use this opportunities to charge all steemians and let you know that you’re all capable of great things and to make a positive difference on both your lives and the lives of others.

IMG-20210907-WA0017.jpg

Always do good at all times at strives always to make positive impact . you may not know who is watching you. In situation that you doubt your capabilities, just believe. Believe in yourselves, there’s no limit to what you can achieve.
Thank you family for reading.
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@booming01
@bright-obias
@ngoenyi
IMG-20210907-WA0020.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89