Contest || MY VIEW AND EXPERIENCE OF CAMPUS HOSTEL AND LODGES AROUND|| @daprado1999

in CampusConnect2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20220722-000404.pngsource

MY VIEWS AND EXPERIENCES OF CAMPUS HOSTELS AND LODGES AROUND

The campus is a beautiful world and as a student getting into college was a very beautiful experience to share. I hope listeners and my fellow campus students enjoy this special tale.

  • What did you do when you gained admission on campus. Did you reside in school hostel or not

Gaining admission on campus was a thing of joy. It was happily welcome by my family. My joy was so profound and immeasurable back then. On my 1st semester, I resorted to staying in the hostel. It was amazingly horrible! I must say.

The UNN hostel had one of the worst residence, breeding various air borne diseases, readily available to invest it's victims. I was loosing it and couldn't cope with the whole circumstances. I just spent 3 months of my 1st semester in the hostel before permanently moving to a lounge.
Screenshot_20220709-060402_1.png

  • What is the reason behind your choices, why did you not pick the school hostel

The major reason behind me picking a lounge basically is the "giant beg-bug saga", an unforgettable experience. I noticed series of rash and boils breeding on my tender skin after the first month of moving into the hostel. It was so massive as though I had monkey pox. At first I felt it could be mosquito bites, but the rash increased so fast and massively.

Every sleeping night was yet another night of war, as I could barely sleep. I eventually turned my nights into study nights to contain the lingering situation. One faithful day, I sun dried my mattress due to sweat, as it was the dry season and the hostel fan was not in good working condition. 15 minutes later, I went to see my foam behold, the giant bed bugs were uncomfortable in the sun and crept out of their crevices! from inside the foam...

I could barely speak and was really amazed. I didn't sleep another night in the hostel after this experience. I got my things packed up and started my journey to staying in a lounge.
Screenshot_20220722-002910.pngsource

Screenshot_20220709-060402_1.png

  • What are your experiences in the school hostel and wherever you decided to stay (positive and otherwise)

When I stayed in the school hostel, I had bad experiences ranging from water scarcity, to foul stench! Oh Gracious Father! The toilets where so bad, it was a nightmare.

In my lounge I had good experiences of good water, lighting and sufficient fresh air without foul odour. My negative experience on the contrary was just laziness to classes and attending school activities. The burden of entering the school premises from my lounge was so tiring, so to say. Asides these I had a wonderful experience in my lounge.

  • Did you enjoy there and why?

I enjoyed my stay in the lounge because I had a click of studious friends living there. We had study sessions together and tutorial classes on weekends too. It made me more focused on academics. I had my comfort and yet great grades too.

  • What do you think needs improvement

I think the hostels need resuscitation and a stronger maintenance routine. A parent visiting his ward told us that these beddings we use where the exact ones he used about 25 years ago! When he graduated. It is so bad, that the sector barely changes these mattresses and beddings. These facilities should be put in place to keep these hostel neat and also the toilets need revitalization to see to it that students are well protected from chronic diseases.

  • What are the advantages and disadvantages of Living on Campus

Advantages

  • Proximity to school and overall academic activities. When you live on campus, you can easily visit classes or night classes without stress. The proximity to school and acadic activities is a huge advantage of living on campus.

  • Enjoying the free WiFi in my college is a huge benefit. From the comfort of your bed you could access the internet at ease without the need to purchase data. This a a major benefit of staying in the school hostel too.

  • Enjoying social gatherings like bonfire nights, dinner nights, games night, matriculation night and a host of others is a huge advantage of staying on campus. You get caught up on all the actions too.
    Screenshot_20220722-005540.pngsource

Disadvantages

  • Living on campus could give serious health issues as typhoid, malaria or hepatitis. Air borne dieases are easily spread too. I feel it's a major disadvantage of living on campus.

  • The Advent of theft is also so heavy on campus. You could barely sleep well without thoughts of loosing valuables. People break into hostel rooms at night on campus and stealing gadgets and some major assets.

I invite @iddy @davosimple to join this contest too. I hope my blog was interesting, let me know how you felt. I am always ready to share insights with you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you, @daprado1999 for making this quality post in our community today.
We hope to read more of your quality contents

Criteria RemarkGrade
Quality1.5 /3
Markdown/presentation1.5/2.5
#clubclub50/75/1001 /1
Verified user1/1
Plagiarism free1/1
#steemexclusive1 /1
Bot free0.5/0.5
Total-7.5/10
 2 years ago 

Hello @daprado1999, thanks for publishing this post in Campus Connect community,

Your post has been supported using Campus Connect Curation account.

Keep publishing original and quality posts in Campus Connect community.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPTpz7Uq5ujHgG4nBFxBmGTKURwn9hGbB3jzG2jac9Sd5A7HYfy1ne3WpQ2kRVkj3jqhCeMGVux (1).png

Curated by : @jueco

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13