STAYING ALONE OR HAVING A ROOMMATE? by @bensonsomto

in CampusConnect3 years ago

MY EXPERIENCE

Some people love staying alone while others enjoy having a roommate

Personally, sometimes I want to be alone while sometimes I want a roommate so generally, it just depends on my mood.
For the past 3 years in my med school I’ve had a roommate whose name is Destiny and so far so good it has been fair, it has not been all bad and it has not been all good.
Having a roommate? Pros and cons

PROS

Company I need to emphasize on this. Having a roommate gives you an option of someone to talk to and share your opinions and receive advises. Sometimes when feeling down or troubled you just need. to talk to, to brighten up. Having a roommate allows that. Having no one to talk to about troubling matters somehow encourages overthinking which stresses a lot and sometimes encourages depression.
Division of labor: everything seems so easier with a roommate. We split the bills we split the chores we split everything. I don’t like doing the dishes so I cook meanwhile my roommate cannot cook so Destiny does the dishes.
Motivation: had I stayed alone I don’t think I’d have been motivated to do as much academic work as I do currently cause sheesh it can be tiring atimes but it hasn’t been so cause I’m always restless when I see another person working and I’m relaxing, it makes me feel bad.
Support: You can’t do everything on your own; once in a while you need help with things. I was sick for like a week and that week was the deadline to submit my assignment but my roommate helped me I didn’t really miss much that week because I had support.

CONS

Privacy: there’s really no privacy, knowing you have to accommodate someone in your life you can never keep something and come back to find it there plus its always messy.

Having a roommate can be a drag sometimes. It tends to slow you down on things.
And many more things I didn’t mention but I’ll get to tell you next time.

Tell me what you feel.
Thanks for reading this.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Having a roommate can come with gains or losses. But I think the gains are more than the losses. Good post though.

 3 years ago 

It's better having a roommate oo than staying alone

 3 years ago 

It's better having a roommate you can talk to when you feel depressed

Honestly i cannot deal with a roommate. It's even worse when the person is way different from you or you guys don't have an understanding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54