The diary game||Saturday 26th February, 2022: Drilling, Sanitation and Lecture at the NYSC Orientation Camp Kubwa (Club75)

in CampusConnect2 years ago

Introduction

Good day Steemians,

It's been a while right but you wouldn't blame me. Activities are excess and maybe in my next diary I would share what a typical day in my life looks like in camp. You would pity me once you see them the the worst happens to be the parade rehearsals.

Parade rehearsal what we've been doing upon admission into the camp. It's to prepare us on how to behave on the swearing in day. Swearing in ceremony is a ritual that intiates us as a full blown corper and government property.

For Batch A Stream one our swearing in ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, 1st March, 2022 by 9am sharp. Funny enough we're trained to wake up in time and answer when being called for.

Activities of the day

I woke up by 4:30am to prepare for rehearsals. I just brush my teeth and dress up. There's no need for formalities that is bathing cause we have early morning drilling which I would do first before taking a proper morning bath.

After the morning prayers which comes before the rehearsal we have physically fitness exercise then the rehearsal. While doing all these we're expected to stand for a period of 2 hours and more.

It's not that easy but we have no choice than to do so especially when we're are being trained by soldiers who are used to it and can even stand longer if need be.

We were dismissed after the rehearsal to go to our various hostels for Sanitation/breakfast. We were to assemble back at the multi purpose hall by 10am buy of course we had to be there at least 5 minutes before.

Personally, I came early just to get seat cause the seats are limited and the lecture spans for 3 hours and I can't afford to stand throughout the lecture delivered by NYSC officials.

During the lecture which was titled Cybersecurity, I took some pictures. I have a basic knowledge already but despite the basic knowledge I had, I still have to be there.

Photo Speaks

IMG_20220226_114159.jpg

IMG_20220226_114157.jpg

IMG_20220226_114207.jpg

IMG_20220226_114213.jpg

The lecture ended by 1pm to enable us have our lunch by 2pm. We were served jellof rice and fish. I must say, the food tastes nice for a public food. It has quality and quantity to na extent.

Siesta comes after lunch so I seized the opportunity of taking my rest which is paramount to me and my fellow prospective corp members. I showered when I got to the hostel to enable me look and smell fresher for the new day.

By 3:30pm, I was preparing to leave hostel for evening rehearsals. On a normal day we have rehearsals morning, afternoon and evening but because it's a weekend, plans changed.

At the training ground I took some pictures. I had to do so immediately because if I don't at that period, soldiers won't permit it during rehearsals.

Photo Speaks

IMG_20220226_172749.jpg

IMG_20220226_172751.jpg

The experience is more stressful than fun. Since it's compulsory I don't have any freaking choice, I'm doing it like that. No pain no gain I guess that's what people say.

My evening started with the rehearsal, then dinner and finally welcome party throughout which I was bored cause I was tired and needed a proper rest.

After the party, I went straight to the hostel, did a major washing up and sleeping peacefully cause I knew that the next day which was being Sunday didn't require early morning waking up.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I hope you are getting used to the early morning drilling and other stuffs.... Some of my friends sees the early morning drilling as stress cos they feel they don't have enough sleep to their satisfaction.
Glad to see you getting use to the activities in a few days of being in the camp..

Stay safe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63