The School Life I Prefer by arinzegod12

in CampusConnect2 years ago


Screenshot_20220823-064807~2.png

Before we fully emancipate ourselves into writing this topic I believe it is crucial to define what is a High School and What is a College?

High School is what we refer to as Secondary School here in Nigeria, an institution for Secondary Education through which you are prepared to gain entrance into college. It is the next stage after you have finished your Primary School Education. In High School it is expected that students before the end of their study should have known what course they want to study in College.

College is why we know as university and it is the highest institution of learning anyone can study, this institution offers both post graduate and undergraduate study. Here one is taught courses that prepares him or her for their chosen career.

Tell us about your High School and College Life


The name of the High School I attended was Rock Foundation Secondary School, My High School life was great, I was a day student in a Private School. As a day student I was always under the watchful eyes of my parents, taking me to school and bringing me back home. As early as 6:30 we have left home for school.

In High School I was among the back benchers, the life of the class, causing chaos and making noise was my specialty. My High School imbibed a very strong reading habit in us and there was little room for socialization. We did not do Inter-house Sports, attend Inter-School Competitions or any activity that allows you socialize with other schools.

After High School, I gained entrance into college in 2018, The University of Nigeria Enugu Campus to be precise, it was a whole different life than what I experienced in High School. The Freedom to do whatever you like without any adult coaching you was on another level. You can decide whether to attend lectures or not.

The College I attended was a Public University so there was no limit as to what a student can do. College was very stressful, the lectures were tough and there was a lot to read. The beautiful thing about College Life is that point where you have to adapt to your new environment, fitting in was difficult but I eventually did. When I came in I was complaining about everything, I felt sad and depressed but as I began meeting new people I became better.

What you like and hate about each life


What I liked about High School is that you did not carry a lot of burden on your own, my parents were there to support me, life wasn't hard in High School and mistakes can be easily corrected in terms of academic performance. In High School everybody is equal, everybody was real no pretence.

What I didn't like about High School was the lack of freedom, nobody cares about your choice, it was they decide for you that you will follow. I hated corporal punishment because sometimes it escalates to brutalising a student. Some of us still have scars from High School days.

College has this overwhelming freedom, you know that feeling when you are no longer under the whims and caprices of your parents, you are free to explore both the good and bad, that is what I like about college. The ability to make your own decisions and choices without any interference gives you that sense of responsibility.

Also college allows you to explore other fields asides education, it also allows you to connect with different people. Infact college is the best place to build a connection with people which can help you in the future.

However what I dont like about college life is that, mistakes in your academic performance can be very difficult to correct and if you can't control yourself and let the freedom you have overwhelm you, it will be very dangerous for you. In college there is a lot of pressure from every angle, from the lecturers, your friends and even your parents at home. This is where you realize that adulthood is not a child's play.

College is also very stressful, lectures that can begin as early as 6am and end by 5pm in the evening and then you have to go back to your hostel or lodge to eat, read and prepare for the next tedious, there is hardly any break because their is no one there to support you or share your burden with.

What you have learned in each life


What I have learnt in High School is that you have to make up your mind about what you want to do in College, I learned discipline cause my school was very strict and how to handle pressure besides attending classes by 7am and finishing by 5:30pm was not new to me in College we have being doing this in High School.

In College I have learnt that in this life 'na only you waka come oh', whatever you do is on your head, if you decide to do bad nobody will talk to you. I have also learnt that being responsible for yourself is not an easy task but it is also an honourable one to be in charge of your life. It is in college you discover who you truly are because you have to survive. The choice is always yours so that when you make mistakes you only have you to blame.

Which life do you prefer


The life I prefer is College Life because of the freedom it affords you, when you are in College you are totally free, you begin to discover who you truly are, in college one can do things he or she likes asides academics, some people can start up a small scale business, active participation in sports activities, connect with people on a whole new level. In College there are a lot of Social and Academic clubs to be part, this helps you nurture your God given talent you may not have realized while in High School.

College is where boys become men, it is the real life outside the protection of an adult because you become one, you learn to manage yourself, grow, discipline and make yourself a better person. In College you are not limited to anything as long as you are focused, it gives you a taste of what the real world looks like, it is in college you will meet people from different works of life, different lifestyle. College also prepares you career wise for the labour market, so it is not a child's play and must be taken seriously.

Conclusion


Thank you at @goodybest for this great contest. High School life and College Life are very different, High School only prepares you to gain entrance into college it doesn't prepare you for life in College. I am inviting @jueco, @starr and @henryug to participate in this contest.

The image was designed with WPS.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for taking part in this contest @arinzegod12 you've written so well about each of your school life, and how they're shaping your life and makes who you are. Well done ✅ I wish you success and please continue to be active in our community we appreciate you

Status Club
club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
0(self vote 0)
Grading:
8.5/10
Verification date:
08-25-22


Note your voting CSI is 0 indicating that you don't support follow users for the past 1week, please try and upvote others to raised your CSI

 2 years ago 

Nice write-up, I wish you success

 2 years ago 

Hello @arinzegod12, thanks for publishing this post in Campus Connect community,

Your post has been supported using Campus Connect Curation account.

Keep publishing original and quality posts in Campus Connect community.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPTpz7Uq5ujHgG4nBFxBmGTKURwn9hGbB3jzG2jac9Sd5A7HYfy1ne3WpQ2kRVkj3jqhCeMGVux (1).png

Curated by : @jueco

Endeavour to upvote the articles of others to make you eligible for bigger votes

It's me again @arinzegod12

I was wondering: did you give up on Steemit? :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11