My worst experience as an enterpreneur // @psalmson/ 19/09/21

in Steem Entrepreneurs3 years ago

HOW I STARTED WORK AND THEN MY OWN BUISNESS

I finished schooling around 2009 and then thought of going to work with my cousin on mast installations which I did only for a year, then I left him and went in search of job at the Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), I worked there as a casual worker for 4years and then moved on to working with Docfrey Energy Ltd from 2014 till 2018 and I guess that was when I finally gave up on working for anyone or any company and decided to start up a buisness of my own which I did and it's still on the verge of standing, I started a Fish Farm business and made ponds, then I went to learn how to hatch Cat fishes which I paid 60 thousand naira for and I was thought not just how to hatch but also how to nurture the fishes when hatched and also how to test the PH of the water to be sure its okay for the fishes before proceeding with hatching, I hatched for the first time and to my greatest surprise I saw cat fish fries for the first time in my life and it gave me a certain type of happiness and a sense of fulfillment that I was able to give life to something and it made me appreciate our God Jehovah a lot.

IMG_20210919_175732.jpg
The first set of ponds I have

HOW MY CHALLENGES STARTED

After the hatching of the Cat fish fries, the fishes were too many for my ponds and they started dying slowly then I made another pond and when they were two weeks old I transfered some of the fishes to the newly made pond and they all died in the new pond because I failed to transfer them with enough of their water to the new pond so they died, then I started nurturing the ones in the original ponds where I hatched the fishes and they started to thrive.

IMG_20210919_175849.jpg
This is the picture of early fingerlings

ANOTHER ASPECT OF MY CHALLENGES AS THE FRIES GOT TO 3 WEEKS OLD

The issue of survival of the fittest came into play and cannibalism came in play, some of the fishes started eating other fishes and it made the number of fishes in my pond drop fast, then I started sorting them according to their sizes and putting them in different ponds and the ones eating other fishes couldn't eat fish anymore because they were with only their size, later I faced bacteria due to the food I gave them from day one, (darfner) I used to catch them from the gutter and wash them with salt before feeding them to the fishes and they were doing well untill that 3rd week when I sorted them and despite meeting vets and telling them my problems which they prescribed a drug for me, I used the drugs yet I lost most of the fishes and had just a few left, I trained them till they got big and while training them I carried out another hatching.

IMG_20210919_175801.jpg
The remaining fishes of the first hatching

HOW I OVERCAME MY CHALLENGES

I did a new hatching and followed due process and carefully handled the new hatchlings and this time I feed them with darfner for only two weeks after hatching them and followed them with the foreign feed that I bought for them and after one month of nurturing them I had fingerlings and I sold them off to buyers from the northern part of Nigeria, with that I chose to make the fish business my main business and just last month I sold table sized fishes for the first time to neighbors and people in the area.

LESSONS THAT I LEARNT AND WANT TO SHARE WITH EVERYONE

Being an Entrepreneur is not easy I must say and it most times starts off badly but with endurance, perseverance and focus on your goals or drives, you can and will succeed.

Share payout of 25% to @steemkindness

This is my introduction post link for achievement 1
source

@ladyofpolicy
@harferri

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Greetings entrepreneur, keep up the good work

Yeah I will and you too

 3 years ago 

Thank for parcipating in the contest ..
Regards and success @psalmson

Thanks a lot for the view,I hope to win 1st place though,lol

Thanks a lot for the view,I hope to win 1st place though,lol

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for participating in my contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99