You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Engagement Challenge - S7W4 |Trading Scrap As Safe and Booming Business

in Steem Entrepreneurs2 years ago

Okay... you've put a smile on my face.
Many moons ago our family had a scrap metal business. Ernst Scrap Metals, in Potchefstroom, South Africa. It still exist but under new owners.
I even worked there for a few years before I bought my first restaurant.
It is indeed a very lucrative business especially if you can get contract with some of the bigger companies like construction companies, steel works, etc.
Our biggest assets were;

  1. The press that could press a car body into a block
  2. The weigh bridge
  3. The second hand register to log what and from who you bought it

You are right, scrap is all around us.
Good luck with the contest and thanks for the invite.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

As I handle various marketing and heavy industrial projects, I think I have an idea of the scrap and its management. I know the utility of the hydraulic car press body, but that is not possible for smaller traders.

Besides, in India, cars are not sold in whole but in parts, but I know these are useful for making a car into a small piece, which again reduces the cost of transportation.The most profitable business in India is dismantling large industries, and cutting ships, and selling their useful parts to different traders.

Thanks again for accepting my invitation and such a nice comment, my best regards.

Did you watch the match between India and England under19 held in your place?

 2 years ago 

I've actually watched a documentary some time ago regarding the "ship graveyard". It was so interesting.

As for the cricket, yes I did. I was so surprised when England beat Australia. I truly thought a score under 100 is way to low.
As for India, they dominated England. 7 Wickets!
Best of all, it was played in my town of birth. The one I've also mentioned we had the scrap metal dealership, Potchefstroom. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

Actually the ship graveyards is a big business in India and most ships are brought here for dismantling.

I wish I was there to watch that finale in Potchefstroom. By the way I saw almost all matches played in women's world cup in Australia 2020-21. I even met Shefali Verma, the Indian captain in this tournament and other players from various countries (in Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne) as I was close to ground and players' dugouts were in our easy reach.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! You lucky fish!
One of the highlights of my life was standing in the middle of the MCG shouting my name. I get goosebumps just thinking of it (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

I know how it feels to be there in a ground-

IMG-20201202-WA0008.jpg

This was me in Canberra during a match between Australia and English women.

 2 years ago 

And me on the MCG (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

👍🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60784.40
ETH 2633.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61