Steem Business - Steemit Engagement Challenge Contest 1 | Business review in your city - by @jueco

in Steem Entrepreneurs2 years ago

Screenshot_20220430-221954.png

Hello friends,
I believe we are all doing great and we are enjoying the engagement contest.

That being the case, I proceed to make a submission of my entry.
This contest focuses on the business activity in my locality.

Inorder for me to participate in this contest, I will be showing how a farm business is being established.

Please follow along:

  • GET A FARM LAND

IMG_20220422_071350_342.jpg

Screenshot_20220430-165413.png

The first step to take inorder to establish a farm business is to get a proposed site for farming.
As expected, the site will be bushy, full of grasses and even some dangerous animals.

The next step will be for you to clear the the grasses off the land as I have done above.

After clearing the grasses off the site, you may proceed to make ridges, which will help support the growth of the crop you intend to plant.

  • PROCEED TO PLANT ON THE LAND:

After a good farm land have been located and cleared, the next step is to proceed with the planting.

The planting of crops can be done in several ways, depending on the crop to be planted.

Many prefer to plant using the seed which is a very effective method.
Some other time, crops like water leaf can be planted with it's stand.

Below is a picture of how a farm land looks after being planted.

IMG_20220430_135316_144.jpg
PICTURE TAKEN WITH INFINIX SMART 5

The above is a waterleaf farm, as seen above are several ridges which helps the growth of the crop.

  • WATER YOUR FARM REGULARLY:

Another thing I don't fail to do is to water the plants.
Plants depends on water to survive, so inorder to enable the crops grow better and fresher, one needs to water the plants regularly.

The growth and health of your plants depends on the rate at which you water them.
This is one reason why it is advisable to get a farm near a riverine area, by so doing, it will be easy to access water.

  • LEARN TO WEED YOUR FARM:

Screenshot_20220430-172540.png

Weeding of the farm is very important.
Weeding can be explained as the removal of unwanted plants from the soil.

Whenever a particular specie of crop is planted, it is often noticed that other crops are found there.
These other crops that was not planted is what is referred to as weed.

This weed on your farm competes with the wanted crop for space, water, sulphur and soil nutrients.
By so doing, it decrease the rate at which your crops will glow.

When all of this is being followed accordingly, your crops will be ready for harvesting in due time.

It is also good to note that whenever the crops is ready, one needs to harvest it with care, depending on the crops being harvested.

As it is known, we have annual, biennial and perennial crops, I deal mostly with vegetables which are annual crops because they take weeks to be ready for harvesting.

Below are some pictures of me at work 😃.

Screenshot_20220430-204836.png

The above is a picture I that of me about to embark on a serious bush clearing inorder for crops to be planted.

As I said earlier, before crops can be planted, there should be bush clearing.

Screenshot_20220430-204943.png

The above is a picture of me showing the progress I have made with the bush clearing.
I must admit, it wasn't easy for me to have successfully cleared those bushes, but I remained focused at the light at the end of the tunnel.

Screenshot_20220430-204803.png

Here's a picture of me assisting my mum to arrange the waterleaf plant.
The water leaf plants usually grow with flowers and this flowers can't be sold to the retailers because it is not healthy for consumption.

Besides, whenever the flowers are removed from the waterleaf, it makes it more attractive to the final consumers.

Screenshot_20220430-205103.png

Here is a picture of me in our pumpkin plantation, trying to harvest some pumpkin leaves so that it can be delivered to the retailers who demanded for it

Screenshot_20220430-205120.png

The above is a screenshot of me and a bunch of pumpkin leaves which 100naira(Nigerian currency) or 0.5steem, given that steem = $0.4.

Most times, it is advisable to maintain this retailer- producer relationship.
And by this, I make it a point of duty to visit the market daily to ask how their sales are going.

Below is a picture of how the market looks like.

IMG_20220430_141322_195.jpg

IMG_20220430_140554_313.jpg

IMG_20220430_140443_322.jpg

IMG_20220430_140430_402.jpg

I couldn't let them know I was taking pictures because I won't be allowed to and it looks awkward taking pictures in a local market.

WHERE IS MY BUSINESSES LOCATED

Using what3words
The location of my business is at ota, this can be seen below.

Screenshot_20220430-213558.png
Source

Then I proceeded to Google map, and Google map gave me the same location as the what3words.
This can be seen below.

Screenshot_20220430-214125.png
SCREENSHOT FROM GOOGLE MAP

HOW MUCH DOES IT COST

One bundle of the water leaf = 50naira (Nigerian currency) = 0.2steem

And when sold in bulk 3bundles = 100naira = 0.4steem

The same is true for the pumpkin leaf.

CONCLUSION

It is very important to have a business, irrespective of what the business is, a person should be proud of his business.

I am proud of working on the farm, although it is sometimes stressful, but it is worth the stress.

All pictures were taken using infinix smart5, unless otherwise stated

Thanks for reading!

Here's my Introduction post

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Welcome and thank you @jueco for your participation and contribution to the success of the "Steemit Engagement Challenge" Program initiated the Steemit Team by participating in the Steem Business Contest from the Steem Entrepreneurs Community

May success be with you in life and steem on!

Team verification results :
Verified userYES
Plagiarism-freeYES
Bot-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
#club75NO
#club100NO
Beneficiaries 20%YES
Voting CSI24.2

Keep up your good work, best regards and good luck !

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much @steempreneurship for the review, I must confess, this is the most committed community I have seen.

Few minutes after I submitted my post and it has been graded? Thanks again.
Meet you at the top

 2 years ago 

Deseo mucho éxito a tu emprendimiento, es un trabajo fuerte el que realizas, de mucho estrés pero mientras amemos lo que hacemos , nuestro trabajo se hace placentero. Saludos y muchas bendiciones.. te deseo éxitos!

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for stopping by, I appreciate your efforts, meet you at the top 💪

Very detail business review. Well-done, friend. I have made my own entry.

 2 years ago 

Ok, nice, I wish you the very best in this competition

 2 years ago 

Wonderful review by you, though it was different from others and I love it because we all need to eat, so we can not rule out farming from other business. The vegetable comes out so beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54