You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SEC17/W1 -Heaven and Hell fantasy or reality?

I also have my problems with both constructs... As an atheist and engineer, I assume that I will die at some point and then have nowhere to go except a cosy grave. The principle of divine reward vs. punishment certainly served a purpose in earlier times: when the majority of the population was uneducated and certain behaviours had to be taught. I find it quite frightening that it still works today...

Sort:  

It indeed is frightening that it works especially in very closed commumities. I've lived between those people who simply say: it's god will. This includes if a father tells his 4 year old to cross the road. The child does and is hit by a car. The little boy had to be scraped of the road. My doctor told me (the only normal one out of 8) as he visited me on Sundays to have a normal chat instead of church.

Everything forbidden, TV, radio, most books, wearing trousers (girls) but not incest, beating up your wife, chaining them in the basement, sunday walks in the forest and getting out pregnant... I know it's hard to escape out such a community. Who does will be abandoned and the devil will of course burn them untill eternity while these great men enter heaven. It does not comfort me to have a shitty life with the promise I might perhaps end up in heaven.

It's fine whatever people believe, are willing to sacrifice, but I don't believe threat is the essence of life. I have no intention to go to a heaven like that.

Being one with Mother Earth is fine with me, it's the circle of life.

👋❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56