Steem Engagement challenge-S12/W6|"The Grand Festival In My Country."

in Incredible Indialast year

PSX_20231013_112942.jpg

Festival is a period of merriment, and it's an annual event, it could be religious or traditional but a series of concerts, and plays usually take place. I'm a Nigerian and we have uncountable festivals in my country, festivals like the new Yam Festival, the Argungu Fishing Festival, the Carniriv Festival, the Durbar Festival, the Calabar Festival, the Durbar Festival and many more. But the grand one among them is the Calabar carnival!

What Is The Grand Festival In Your Country, And How Do You Celebrate That Festival? (Mention some rituals if you follow).

IMG_20231013_090744.png

2017 band group carnival

The Calabar carnival is not just great but is touted as Africa's biggest street party! The festival is held annually every December in Calabar, Cross River State Nigeria. Before 2017, the carnival used to last for a month but now it's two weeks, the festival is not just the biggest but the most colourful event in Africa. People all over the world usually travel down here to celebrate the event, it is the "Pride of Nigeria" and this festival has made Cross River State home for tourism and hospitality in Africa at large.

IMG_20231013_090622.png

2017 band group carnival

As I said before the festival is celebrated annually, the Governor of the state usually announces the theme of each year, for example, this year's own is "The Sweetness Season" so people around Africa will prepare themselves and group into different bands, Blue, pink, red, white and green, purple, yellow with etc. Different competitions will be held which include Music, dance, singing, a fashion show, and the beauty pageant for which Miss Africa will be chosen. Essay competitions for both Secondary and tertiary students will be held too, to encourage reading habits among youths.

PSX_20231013_123412.png

2017 band group carnival

Prices used to be won by different contestants, and the purpose of the festival is to showcase the richness of the African culture to the world, to show that we're talented and blessed and to let the youth believe that our continent is a place they should be proud of.

Would You Love To Go On A Vacation During This Festive Period, Or Would You Love To Stay In Your Country And Celebrate The Festival With Your Family? Give The Reason Behind Your Choice.

IMG_20231013_081728.jpg

Ha this question is like asking a monkey if he would like to eat Bananas, hahaha, and my answer is obvious! Because I love travelling it's part of my education, but this year I won't, I will stay in my country with my family and friends. Well, the truth is that we didn't budget for this, we have big a project at hand which is capital intensive so for now we're focusing on it, and I don't think we will travel to another state but we will still enjoy it right here in my state, because many relatives and friends will come back and there many things to enjoy here too. So we won't be lacking behind

Share With Us If You Have Any Memorable Moments Related To The Festival.

IMG_20231013_140900.png

Yes the most memorable one was the 2017 Own, that time I got married, so Hubby took me and my family to the carnival and it was so fun and exciting! Yes it was 1 week of merriment/excitement, we used to bathed in the morning and after breakfast we'll our hotel to the street where happenings took place, and what is engraved on my mind is the Ekpe and the Ekombi dance of the Calabar people. The beauty pageant competition too was lit, it was a combination of beauty and brains, and the grand winner took home 50k Dollars and a brand-new SU. The was more than colourful!

Artists, Musicians, Dancers, Models, Actors /Actresses, Politicians, Noble men and women from all over the world used to attend this event. It is the best in Africa and one you will not want to miss for anything, and it remains my favourite. I would like to invite my friends @patjewell @graceleon and @ninapenda to join this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Oh Calabar carnival is one carnival I enjoyed during my days in Calabar.

Mr Donald Duke was a well organized man who taught this carnival could bring more tourist to the land and yes!, the carnival brought in so many people during his time.

I can't forget my experience during the 2nd year of this carnival. I had so much fun and friends too.

Thank you ma'am for the invite.

 last year 

Wow, so you've stayed in Calabar before! Yeah Mr Donald have a Foresight and the purpose of initiating the festival has been fulfilled and I hoped everything will be back to normal after the pandemic and Last year unexpected events. I appreciate your meaningful engagement dear.

Qué hermoso festival compartes con nosotros amigo es un gusto conocer sobre tu cultura y ver las fotografías. Ustedes se votan en esa celebración de verdad que todo es muy bonito y colorido. Quisiera estar en tu país en para celebrar junto a ti esta gran festividad.

Éxitos.

 last year 

Wow! It will be nice to host you dear and I can assure you'll be pleased. I appreciate your kind words, thank you 💞

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post

20230927_094720_0000.png

Curated by : @enamul17

 last year 

I appreciate @enamul17!

Hello partner, I hope you have the good results you want.

Reading your post I thought it was nice to know that your country is an icon of the Calambar festival culture, and that many people from all over the world visit Nigeria.

In the photos I can see the magnitude of how colorful the festival is, I have no doubt that people from all over the world will attend this spectacular celebration, the pride of Nigeria...

I thank you very much for sharing the beauty of the best celebration in your country, I hope you have many rewards for your publication.

Happy day mate goodybest.

 last year 

Oh My, your beautiful comment made my day, thank you so much for visiting me Rdp89 I appreciate your thoughtful commendations.

You're welcome mate, it was a pleasure to support you.
good day!

Oh wow!!! What a colorful festival!
Well, the contest asked for a "grand festival" and that is exactly what you have given them. Those costuums and colors are not only mesmerizing but truly GRAND!

I love reading about the cultures, events, etc. of other countries.

Thank you for sharing with us, and good luck with the contest.

 last year 

☺️☺️☺️ I'm smiling unstoppably, I appreciate your wonderful commendations, and I'm glad you like this festival maybe you'll need to attend to obtain your own unforgettable experience! Thanks for the good wishes, I appreciate you 💕

Pleasure! 🎕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62