Sharing is Caring - Paintings You Like

in ᴀʀᴛ & ᴀʀᴛɪꜱᴛꜱ2 days ago (edited)

As the title suggests, sharing is caring. That said, this thread is intended as an informal free-for-all for classical- or not so classical works. Just sit back, relax and have a comment or two. Maybe tell us about the pieces you like and who or what inspires you. Or just leave a painting (bonus points for having a source).


Vincent Van Gogh: The Prisoner's Round

Word of caution: Avoid clicking any suspicious links, especially from people you don't trust. It might sound obvious, but you wouldn't be the first to get hackend and probably wouldn't be the last either. If you're not sure, don't.

Sort:  
 yesterday (edited)


Ivan Aivazovsky: Azure Grotto, Naples 1841

I'm not the right person to make any value judgements about art, at least beyond personal taste, but I enjoy this one. If I were forced to articulate why I'd probably sound like Joe Pesci in Goodfellas, critiquing his mom's painting. "One dog goes one way, the other dog goes the other way."

Can't say much about Ivan Aivazovsky as a person, or his larger body of work for that matter. I just stumbled upon him more or less by accident.

That is also my favourite Artist, he is a maritime artist and this one is my favourite

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Ninth_Wave

Hovhannes_Aivazovsky_-_The_Ninth_Wave_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg

He is a master in choosing the colours to show the drama of natural disaster and also the beauty of that power. This painting always made me stun and think, what those people think when they were floating on that wooden wreck of ship. Seeing such beauty of night, sun coming down the horizon did they fear of darkness of night or they hoped to see the full moon, who knows.

As to the "Prisoners" it is really sad painting, even the colours were chosen in such palette that make people sad watching that.

 yesterday (edited)

Yeah, I noticed. He manages to give nature a lot of personality. Large and in charge!

I'm not sure if I would call the Van Gogh painting sad, but it's hard for me to describe. In a sense it almost seems like page taken from an experimental comic book. Or a cartoon for that matter. A little bit of music might change the tone completely.

 yesterday (edited)

Please, add some words (around 50) and be an example for #wewrite. It's not always great to click links to receive more info especially not if you use a phone and have to wait ages (like me) till the next site loads. BTW You will be busy next week replying. Better be prepared.

The Azure Grotto reminds me of those in Malta. Perhaps the blue there is closer to turquoise? There are some caves where they filmed The Blue Lagoon and some James Bond. I forgot which one since I always fall asleep if a James Bond film is playing.

But.. Ivan created indeed a beautiful piece. It's a bit pity it shows so small. I wonder if you had it where would you place it to enjoy it most.

Thanks for sharing, all I can think of are two paintings, one made by a child years ago (very colourful and she doesn't understand I still have it) and the other one is Edvard Munch's The Scream but it's not what I like to share. So I wait.

@tezzmax is there a paining you like to share or an artist perhaps?

#wewrite & #comment

 yesterday (edited)

Oh, not any at the moment.
I should with time.

 yesterday 

see the post about what @grebmot wrote!

Oh okay.

I'll try to.

I pinned this one. You can do this too as a MOD👍

 23 hours ago (edited)

Thanks! I didn't want to be impolite :-)

Greetings friend @grebmot

My favorite painter is Armando Reverón.

A Venezuelan who was born to love the art of painting, and who always showed a style different from others. Nature gave him a respite and a new source of inspiration, his works led him to be considered among the most important of Venezuela, along with Arturo Michelena and Martin Tovar y Tovar.


Armando Reverol Un paseo en el parque (1922)

#wewrite
@yancar @inspiracion @wakeupkitty


Armando Reverón, Landscape, 1922

The longer I look the more interesting it gets. At first glance the man seems very minimalist but there's something going on I can't exactly articulate.

According to what I know, he changed his painting style several times, depending on the experiences he had in each period. He liked to draw people, his wife Juana was his great model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66