Lantern, is it still in existence?

in LifeStyle4 years ago (edited)

images (1).jpegimage source

A lantern is an often portable source of lighting, typically featuring a protective enclosure for the light source- historically usually a candle or a wick in oil and often a battery-powered light in modern time- to make it easier to carry and hang up, and make it more reliable outdoors or in drafty interiors.

Lanterns have been used functionally, for light rather than decoration, since antiquity.
Some used a wick oil,while others were essentially Protected candle-holders, before the development of glass sheets, animal horn scraped thin and flattened was used as the translucent window..

Beginning in the middle Ages, European towns hired watchmen to patrel the streets at night, as a crime deterrent.each watchmen carried a lantern or oil lamp against the darkness the practice continued up through at least the 18th century.

images (3).jpegimage source

Also I can remember when I was small we use lantern for many things, we use lantern to look for snails at midnight also look for fruits early early in the morning, by 5:00am...
So many people know what I'm saying,and I can't forget my past because I will also tell my children about this, till now we still have lantern at home. Many people are not using lantern now because they are producing lot of electric Bobs.

This is all about today,I will give more cases in the coming post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65