Sawat Velley of paradise Pakistan @nazimchishti

in LifeStyle3 years ago

Sawat Velley of paradise

As I left Islamabad for Swat I can’t deny that I wasn’t a little apprehensive. Most people have only heard about this region because of conflict and its association with militant groups.
Swat has been hit hard by the floods with some people, a month after the rains, having still received nothing. Many roads and bridges have been destroyed making areas, and the people that live there, unreachable.
CARE, through it partner organisation IDEA, is targeting the families who have yet to receive help. Families were identified last week and given a token and informed of the time and place when they could collect essential goods such as soap, towels, pots and pans and a tent.
2.jpg

3.jpg
Today I saw these people receive their goods. Arz, 60, said: “I walked for three hours to get here. I am happy to receive these goods. This is the first time we have had anything since the floods.”
I am struck by the organisation of the distribution – no one is fighting or pushing. People are calmly waiting in line to receive these precious goods and then sit, with what looks like relief, before picking up the goods and starting the long journey home.
4.jpg

5.jpg

7.jpg

CARE is also providing people with 2000 rupees (33 Euros) to help them transport their goods home – the methods of transport include donkeys and mules. Arz told me that he is going to use the money for something else and walk the return journey, a journey that will take 4-5 hours as he will be carrying a heavy load. “I am going to use the money that was given for the transport on new clothes for my children.”

thanks@mubeenaslam

Cc

@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemcurator03
@steemcurator04

Special Thanks

@cryptokannon
@hassanabid
@haidermehdi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69