Burma Chronicles: A Recollection

in LifeStyle3 years ago

image.png
I don't remember particularly what is inside this but I read this like 5 years back, when I was starting reading comics on my computer. Comics have always been extremely pricey and out of reach in my country and I remember I used to read wikipedia articles on my dad's phone after he returned home from work. I would just read all the arcs and character biographies and open like 30 tabs. I just read and read and only dreamt of reading a full proper comic. Even in bookstores, they were packaged and sealed and I could only stare longingly at the covers. My house has been repainted but I still keep finding drawings I made in nooks and crannies. I had to base everything only on that one photo at the beginning of the wiki article and so the characters which didn't have any photos ended up wildly different and unique and when my adult self found their pictures, I was very very disappointed.

Then around 2010, we started getting very poor internet. But it was the internet. I would keep the pc on for hours at an end, and download books and movies at 5kbps often less. Everyone in my family thought I was crazy. But I did end up downloading just weird assortments of comics. I didn't know proper sites so I would just lunge and grab at anything I could. I don't know how I came across this comic, but I did and I just needed one evening to read all of it. And then I read it again. And again. This was a highlight comic for me. Watchmen and all were too big size wise to download. But this gave me hope that comics is an amazing medium and I kept trying. As I sit here surrounded by my physical copies of Watchmen, Maus and so on, I know I have come a long way. Still not enough to wantonly buy any comic I wish, but still, I have the opportunity to wait and save money and get it, which was not even a possibility then.

I never found another Delisle comic anywhere. But I remembered the name and I keep searching every two years or so atleast. I wish to buy physical copies soon. I just wanted to keep this here to remind me of where I came from and how Delisle convinced me to keep reading and exploring this beautiful medium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51