The Little Prince review: you'll be a grown-up by the time you've seen it

in LifeStyle3 years ago

I went to see The Little Prince in the cinema with great anticipation and was overwhelmed by the hand-drawn paper models of the stop-motion animation, all of which matched my imagination of the little prince! So I watched it, admiring it in silence, while greedily aspiring: If I had a Doraemon TV sticky hook, I would glue down all the little princes, pilots, foxes, roses, wheat fields, deserts, red planes ...... and keep them all for myself. One day when I want to play with it, I take it out and rehearse my own Little Prince paper puppet show. Preferably on a rainy day when I can stay in bed indefinitely, I will bring out the paper puppets with my chinchilla and his son, or a desert that is not made of paper, or an undulating quilt surface that can be used as a desert. It's fun to think about!
For those who really love The Little Prince, a story without the realistic angle of the little girl aspect at all would actually work. The film tells so much beyond the story of The Little Prince itself, more like an explanation for those who haven't read The Little Prince or can't understand it. For example, the lines that the film lends to the mouths of the old pilot grandfather and the little girl next door.
"The point is not to grow up, it's to forget ......"
"I'll grow up, but I'll never become an adult like you."
So, the movie is like an introduction attached to the story of The Little Prince right?
For someone like me who loved the book The Little Prince, the movie didn't exceed my own expectations, and I could even guess roughly where the plot was going after watching the beginning. But it was a good movie. The only thing I'd like to complain about is the Chinese dubbing. The voices of Yi Yang Qianxi, Zhou Xun and Prince Jian all sounded particularly out of place to me. I'd like to find the original voices and watch it again if I have time.
What touched me most about the film was the loneliness of the old pilot. In reality, it is not easy to hold on to one's childishness, to maintain innocence and kindness at heart. People who harbour such beliefs always grow up to look awkward, immature and out of place in the adult world. So I couldn't help but think of McDull again.
I saw the film's tagline, "Refuse to be a boring adult!" I wondered how many people came to the cinema to see The Little Prince, probably because they thought they would no longer be a boring adult after watching it. But in reality, some people, even though they are in tears in the cinema and finally have that moment when they remember that the smallest locked room in their heart is still inhabited by a child, still walk out of the cinema with their faces up and continue to be boring adults. And, with peace of mind.
There are more people in the world than I can count who, once they grow up, completely forget that they were ever children. These people are so recognisable that we can tell them apart from the crowd just by listening to a few random words they say.
That's why the existence of The Little Prince is so precious. That's why I'm thinking that so many adults in this world can actually be divided into those who like The Little Prince and those who don't. And I, for one, would only like to be friends with the former.
I first read The Little Prince when I was about 16, and I couldn't understand it at all.
I read it again when I was almost 23, and by then I understood it a little bit, and felt like the fox who was looking forward to being tamed, although I knew that creating bonds would inevitably cost me tears. But in the end, people are more afraid of being alone than they are of being hurt.
I really read this story when I was almost 30 years old. This time, I saw myself in almost every character, especially the arrogant rose. (:)
And then I realised that the story of The Little Prince, by the time you get it, you're already an adult. But thankfully, I didn't forget that I was once a child.
1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, the write up is really amazing ❤️. @coinpointone 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38