Our family introduction to Geocaching!

in LifeStyle3 years ago

Screenshot_20210721-162855.jpg

I guess every parent already knows this... but sometimes it can be hard to get kids (and fathers...) to go for a walk or a bike ride if there isn't something interesting on the other end. Actually, I know that I'm pretty terrible at this myself... and so, it is not that much of a surprise that when my wife suggests a walk or bike ride, that it is often met with a fair bit of lack of enthusiasm!

A few years back, on a rare visit from Australia, my parents-in-law talked about doing geocaching. I had really thought that it was a great idea... blending technology, and a nerdy sort of treasure hunting with the mandatory good for you exercise. I had tried it out for a bit, but it really isn't that much fun doing it by yourself... and my wife wasn't that interested.

However, now that my kids are older, I decided to try and spring it on them again.... either that or Pokemon Go... and I'm saving Pokemon Go for a diferrent time.... or perhaps this summer, if I can scrounge up two older phones to play around with (definitely, there is a need for one phone each... or there will be problems!).

So, geocaching it is... or as the kids know it... TREASURE HUNTING! There are quite a few of the free caches... you can pay about 2 euro per month to access the more involved and difficult caches, but we aren't there yet. The kiddie ones are more than challenging enough for us! Plus, if they get too much more difficult, I'm sure that the children will find it more disheartening than fun...

IMG_20210721_122937.jpg

So, we've been combining the geocaching with a fair amount of bike riding. Our 4 year old manages to do quite a bit of distance now on her bike. It's pretty funny to watch as she is busy pumping away with her little legs.. And the person bike weight ratio is much more in favour of the bike than the little person...

Still, she is crazily stubborn... And she will only leave the bike behind if she is ready to fall over from exhaustion... At which point we put her in the kids back seat on one of the adult bikes and I have to come back later with the car or bakfiets to pick it up. Well, I should probably leave the house with the bakfiets instead...

Done if these geocaches are pretty well hidden. Just enough of a clue to find them... But you would definitely pass them by if you weren't looking for them.

IMG_20210720_141417.jpg

There is generally nothing but a log hook inside, but some have a little thing that is interesting for the kids to play with and then put back. My little one is convinced that the next one will contain pirate treasure...

.. Maybe I should make one that is seeded with crypto?

Handy Crypto Tools

Ledger Nano S/X: Keep your crypto safe and offline with the leading hardware wallet provider. Not your keys, not your crypto!
Binance: My first choice of centralised exchange, featuring a wide variety of crypto and savings products.
Kucoin: My second choice in exchanges, many tokens listed here that you can't get on Binance!
MXC: Listings of lots of interesting tokens that are usually only available on DEXs. Avoid high gas prices!
Coinbase: If you need a regulated and safe environment to trade, this is the first exchange for most newcomers!
Crypto.com: Mixed feelings, but they have the BEST looking VISA debit card in existence! Seriously, it is beautiful!
CoinList: Access to early investor and crowdsale of vetted and reserached projects.
Cointracking: Automated or manual tracking of crypto for accounting and taxation reports.

Ledger Nano S - The secure hardware wallet


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community (Subscribe at Steempeak and Peakd) at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82