Curiosity Never Killed Anyone! - Learning to Weave Today.

in LifeStyle3 years ago (edited)

Everyone, how is your day and how is life in general? As for me, I am fairing on well, just the usual staff. Well, apart from the fact that I decided to visit my grandma in the village to see how she is doing.

I found her well so to say and it's always a good feeling seeing my mother's mother 🤔 😊. I love chatting with her and getting to know her youth experiences. I am quite certain that she was a beauty, with big wonderful eyes just by looking at her. She is also hard worker and never rests. She is always up and about, making everyone comfortable and smiling.

Screenshot_20210503-134512.png

Today, she is continuing with her weaving.

Screenshot_20210503-134711.png

Screenshot_20210503-134651.png

She likes making baskets and mats from leaves and sisal. Well, I can't tell what the other raw materials are at this time but unlike in the past where I was just a passive observer, I have decided to take part in the same and I love the experience.

Screenshot_20210429-133531.png

As a way of thanking and encouraging me, she cooked me a meal. A full Kinyankore meal of millet and beans plus 'eshabwe' 😋 my favorite!!

FB_IMG_16048597545386074.jpg

Learning new things is good. It expands your capacity to discover and realize new and endless callings in life. We have been gifted by God with different talents and we can only discover them if we try new things. I am trying to learn how to make a food basket (ekibbo in luganda) and it takes patience.

Screenshot_20210429-133944.png

Screenshot_20210429-133920.png

Screenshot_20210429-133857.png

Making a basket reminds me of the struggles of our lives. How we work and the repercussions at the end of the day. Little by little, you sew it piece by piece. One step at a time and the whole picture of the beautiful work comes into play after a long struggle at the threads. At times we will prick ourselves with the niddle, and not just once! Our thumbs will get tired, and feel numb, but beautiful is the outcome.

Screenshot_20210503-134453.png

It feels awesome trying out new things. After this, I wanna try bunjy jumping (is that even the correct spelling?!) 💢 😆. I want to try making bracelets and even try learning new languages such as Amharic, French, Swahili, Chinese etc . 😂.

I have had a fun experience trying this out. Now I know that I too can make a basket and I have the potential to improve and be better in anything I always thought I couldn't do. I will do this again and continue learning so as to teach others. Thank you for reading. Chaó Adios.

Sort:  

I love how you find time to be with your grandmother and learn new stuff with her. i was like that as well when my grandmother was still alive. She died 2010 due to complications from diabetes and high blood pressure. But I remember all her imparted teachings that she taught me. Like taking care of plants because she has a green thumb. All her plants are healthy and beautiful. She loves to cook as well. She taught me how to crochet, handed down from my mother then to us her grandchildren. I missed our chit chats together.

Enjoy your time with your grandma.

Sorry for your loss @aideleijoie. That was beautiful about the way she impacted your life by what she taught you. Amazing is the kind of relationship you had with your grandmother and I know you will always cherish those memories. We all love our grandmothers 😆. I know she is proud of you.

Since you love trying out new things..may be I will also introduce you to the tennis sport 🎾 🙂 😊. Anyway, glad to see your grand mother and learn a few things you have shared about her. She is still a strong woman. It's such a great love 😍❤️ well expressed through visiting her and helping her out in her weaving business.

Thanks for sharing!

Haha. Yes she is still strong. And by the way, I was looking for the word weaving in my head. But it seems the head was telling me it's knitting! Now, I see that there must have been a rebelling nerve in the medulla oblongata hahaha. Thanks for the offer to intro me to tennis. I bet it's a great sport for great people. I am open to learning.

Hi @amazing-grace, welcome to Steemit. I saw your beautiful grandma's cute baskets and I really like them 😊 I think you like to create new things so you can participate in my contest. I reward with STEEM to 7 participants. My contest link is here
Good luck in Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82