Banana, Raspberry & Basil Dairy Free Icecream

in Natural Medicine5 years ago (edited)

Serious to goodness, how can something so simple have escaped me all this time? I mean, I'd heard on the banana vine (see what I did there?) that frozen bananas, blended, made good icecream but I was like - yeah - yawn.. isn't that just a smoothie without the stuff? And then, on a very hot Victorian summer's day, I got a massive craving for icecream. Given I had a monkey's supply of banoonoos in the fridge, and a small suitcase of frozen raspberries, the two seemed a marriage made in heaven.

As I whizzed in my inferior blender, which is about to blow up, I realised I needed some liquid to get it going a little better. I happened to have some coconut yoghurt AND coconut water in the fridge, so they went in too, lending a richer creaminess to the mix. I had eaten half a bowl before I spied basil in the garden and thought - what if? Back to the blender I went, adding a handful of basil - and oh my god, I'm a genius. I love basil in unusual situations - food related, of course, or that would be just weird - but boyo boyo basil is soooo much more versatile than just pesto. Like thyme, it's great for sweet deserts, and I have no idea why. I bet there is a scientific explanation, but I don't care - you just have to trust me on this.

20200113_150240.jpg

3W72119s5BjVxiq1Y1uwJm7GMvLTqEXhMB4s4Vsivzx75qBBG5n2zbatpdeD2LcSv7ZvcAVonGVeHpZR2wQWRVUKB2euaJCjJWbJA34nNco1fNc8cMM3Ca.png

Banana, Raspberry & Basil Dairy Free Icecream

2 frozen bananas
1 cup frozen raspberries
10 - 15 basil leaves
1/4 cup coconut yoghurt
Extra coconut water or dairy free milk (optional)

20200113_150217.jpg

Since first making this, I have gone banana icecream mad. Mango, banana and coconut. Maple syrup, banana and peanut butter. Banana, redcurrant and sage honey with elderberries. I even did a layered Neapolitan icecream which I sliced into squares and we ate with waxed brown paper around it - a layer of vanilla, a layer of raspberry, and a layer of date and cacao. I forgot to photograph it - too busy orgasming.

What's your favourite?

3W72119s5BjVxiq1Y1uwJm7GMvLTqEXhMB4s4Vsivzx75qBBG5n2zbatpdeD2LcSv7ZvcAVonGVeHpZR2wQWRVUKB2euaJCjJWbJA34nNco1fNc8cMM3Ca.png

This post was created for #fruitsandveggiesmonday, an iniatitive by @lenasveganliving on Steem. Join in with your vegan recipes on Mondays to win, and get inspired by great plant based food. Natural Medicine also proudly contributes a little steem to the reward kitty.

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

banner.png

Sort:  

I love nicecream indeed - this one looks so yummy

I didn't know it was called nice cream but I do now! Thanks!

Yeah, that looks delicious.

It's a bit hard not going back for seconds. And thirds!

Wowzers! I have to try this. Thank you so much for sharing. 💜

No worries.. let me know if you try it!

a monkey's supply of banoonoos - hahahaha you got me there

That looks delicious indeed, the other day I did some similar but used a bit of cinnamon too.

As long as you didn't put eggs with it!

Drooling. Live nice cream and such a great idea to add basil to the mix



@riverflows you have received 50 ENGAGE from @derangedvisions!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

As shucks, cool!

I love making ice cream in my Oster blender. I use real thick cream and frozen blueberies, vanilla, and cocoa. You can add sweetener of choice. Another is frozen strawberries, banana, and orange extract. I sometimes add cashews or pecans to these.

I've used half frozen peaches, vanilla, pecans also.

Oooh, that sounds yum... though I dont like cream! I can see you making bulk buckets of it!!!

Yeah yeah! All the basil & ice cream 🍓 No wonder you're thinking of ice cream it's summer where you are!! My fave, likely chocolate and pb these days but i am a vanilla girl at heart 🤗

Beautiful post 😍

I have always been a vanilla fan too. Simple is best! Freezing bananas for the next two days of HOT weather.

Wow that sounds and looks so yummy, love how you write. It’s too cold here for icecream, at least for me but in summer it’s amazing how much tasty icecream you can do with fruits. I like to make avocado icecream, makes it very creamy.

Oh yes, and healthy too! Avocado is great in a smoothie, particularly with cacao!

This is very doable for me!!! I would love to try this one, as it is very hot today!!! I am drooling just seeing how yummy your post looks. Thank you for sharing this @riverflows. And for sharing your story before making this ice cream. I had fun reading it. Hahaha! 😂

Ha, glad I made you laugh..did you end up making it?

Not yet, as I do not have coconut yogurt yet. But I am planning to use thick coconut milk instead. I don't know if it would work, but I will try. Hahaha! 😁😂 I sure would inform you if I try. (And maybe I would make a post about it! Hahaha! 😁😂)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43