Of Saturn Return and a More Awakened Life - My Responce to Tribesteemup Bi-weekly Question...

in Natural Medicine5 years ago

@TribeSteemUp posed this bi-weekly question:

Do we only shift our thinking when disaster strikes?

My thoughts...

I feel this is not necessarily so.

Although it may be when disaster strikes, that we are put more on alert, with heightened senses and may have an awakening of sorts, this can bring about a change of our way of thinking, but it is not the only time.

When we can see clearly that the way we have been conducting ourselves may not be optimal or we are not living our life the way we are meant to live it, some folks can make the shift without having to be really shaken up but others it may need that wake up call!

ship-4053201_640.jpg
Image by mollyroselee from Pixabay

With this I began thinking of astrology, and the Saturn return.

Astrologically speaking, Saturn return is

astrological transit that occurs when the planet Saturn returns to the same place in the sky that it occupied at the moment of a person's birth. source -Wikipedia

It takes about 29.5 years to make that cycle and the effects lasts for about two to three years.

This was a time when I had a major shake up in my life in my early thirties. Saturn return is markers of beginnings and ends of major movements of our life, sort of wake-up calls. And either you are living the way you are meant to live or you are not and it is time to make some necessary changes to get yourself back on track.

A second Saturn return hits between age 57-60. This one I experienced some major changes as I changed into another stage of life but the changes were not as harsh and there was not the upheaval as when the first Saturn return occurred (I must be on the right path!)

For more reading on Saturn return, go here

Some other times when I had fairly major shifts in my thinking -

  • When I took a Vipassana course, and although the techniques given were fairly simple, it had a profound impact on me, setting me on the path of awakening and steering me to a more conscious way of living.

  • When my husband was having health problems, it made a shift for healthier ways of living

  • When my father died. He was in the hospital in the city and because I was so focused on being with him and having my priorities straight, I totally dropped the attitude I had previously when I came to the city. I liked to go shopping and bargain hunting, which often had me swayed by the subtle and not so subtle advertising that often surround me and pulled at me. At the time of my father dying, I would recognize an old pattern starting to arise and could very easily let it go, for it was not important to me any more. Even some time after my father's death, because I had such clarity on what my priorities were at that time and what was important to me, I was able to let those old patterns go and now I come to the city with a much different attitude, letting go of my materialism, as of sorts.

Really, I think if we are awakened beings, a disaster is not necessary to have us change our thinking. If we are living more consciously, recognizing patterns and habits that develop in us, our conditioned self, it may be our aspirations that will be what drives us, not the disasters that may befall us!

Here's to having an awakened life, full of peace, love and joy!

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

A lateral way to look at this question, @porters! Our thinking can change for all different reasons, not just disaster. You are so right that a more conscious life enables us to flex and change our thinking. Xx

Wow, what an amazing answer! The way you wrote it down, makes me feel like you were in a flow. You really have a thing with words :>)

I can totally relate to all this and am now intrigued by the Saturn return. I'm 38 now and feel I'm still making major changes but at age 29 till 31/32, I was trying to follow my heart, seriously giving filmmaking a try, at the same time I was struggling loads ( with what I would know call depression and expectations. Being a grown up and all, not feeling at home at all in the system ). Anyhow, I could make this a story longer than your post but let's not get sidetracked here.

Thanks for sharing this personal insight and opening my eyes for astrology.

Much love,

@vincentnijman

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.
weelotus.png

Ya, it's interesting to see those major life changes, becoming an adult and becoming a crone, through astrology - seeing the forces of the planets in our life! Helps to give a little more understanding to what may be going on!

I had to look up the word 'crone'. Learnt something new. It's always nice to have a little more understanding of things, although I like the saying that true wisdom is to know that you know nothing ;>)

Glad to be building your vocabulary and helping you gain a little more understanding!

I would like to think that over 60 we have made it my friend. Wisdom comes with the ages as they say and at my age I have seen so many disasters that they cannot affect me anymore. A distinct calmness descends, as I know that it never lasts.
Blessings!

There is something to be said about making it past 60!
And wisdom does seem to come with age!
Thanks for sharing your bits of wisdom!

Thank you for your great great posts my friend.
Always filled with golden nuggets!
Blessings!

Really, I think if we are awakened beings, a disaster is not necessary to have us change our thinking. If we are living more consciously, recognizing patterns and habits that develop in us, our conditioned self, it may be our aspirations that will be what drives us, not the disasters that may befall us!

This is such a lovely and positive way to see life and humanity. I can feel your optimistic and truthful energy radiating from these words. I also found your comparison of astrology to the major shifts in our lives fascinating. I am reading a book, The Spiritual Child, by Lisa Miller, and she makes reference to these major shifts in life as well. She makes the observation that these shifts often align in parents and children, that although decades apart in age and purpose, major changes happen at the same time. I am looking forward to digging more into astrology and learning from this perspective too. 🌱

My sister is really into astrology so I get my information from her. It was good to know about the Saturn return when I was going through a hard transition, it gave me some understanding.
That sounds like and interesting book. "The Spiritual Child"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79