How to master your guidance system

in Natural Medicine5 years ago (edited)

life purpose path.jpg
Source

In the last two years, I have been questioning the gift of personal freedom and the gift of choosing your path. Here are the questions: out of all the ways that can be taken in a day, what makes my choice the right choice? What if I made the wrong choice according to my life purpose? How can I guide myself to make the best possible choices to pursue my life purpose?

These questions used up a lot of my energy throughout the years. I was asking myself these questions without even realizing it. This constant questioning showed through my anxiety, especially my fear of missing out or even through depression when I felt regret as soon as I decided on a path. I thought there was something wrong with me, and it would discourage me even more. You can say I had a deep fear of failure, which also made decision making more difficult for me. I think that many people have this kind of fear, which can hinder success by staying in our comfy bubble. However, something just clicked, and I have never looked back.

I remember it was a month or so following the passing of my mother in law. I was starting to question everything, and I felt like I was in such a rut. I had a beautiful family, and I decided to put away my career as a Social Worker to stay with my kids. I wasn't sure if that was the best choice for me, then it led me to feel lost again and questioning why I am always questioning which options are right for my life purpose.

I decided to read about The Book of Joy: Lasting Happiness in a Changing World by The Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu with Douglas Abrams, which brought some clarity. I realized that I was my guiding system, and I needed to develop this system. My understanding is that we are the answer to most of our concerns from something as simple as what we should eat today to something more profound, like what is our life purpose.

A light switch turned on in me after just reading a few chapters of this book, and it led me to read many books including The Law of Attraction: The Basics of the Teachings of Abraham by Esther and Jerry Hicks. These books all have something in common, they all share the idea that we are our best life navigators, once we become aware of it, we can learn to use our guidance system. The next few paragraphs will focus on the two books mentioned above and my ideas based on my understanding of my personal growth.

How did we become oblivious to our own guidance system?

6998632248_16c16ebfe9_b.jpg
Source

From early childhood, most of us are raised by a system that relies solely on outside influences to make the right choices for ourselves. An excellent example of this is when our parents made us finish all of the food on our plate when we were younger, despite feeling full. We learn at a very young age to ignore our natural instincts of satiety. This forceful habit can lead to overeating as you get older, this wasn't our parents' intention, but something this small can have a more significant impact on us. All the way through young adult life, most of us make choices according to what looks good, to what are parents want and then we forget to check into how we feel about it. We are the reflection of our upbringing, which certainly doesn't mean it's a bad thing, but it is essential not to be stuck in just one mindset. To expand, we need to become aware of what makes us feel good, what makes us feel right and uplifted, because in the end all the choices we make, will have a more significant impact on us, not on our parents.

So, we learn from a very young age that we aren't the wise ones and that we need to focus on listening to others, to make the right decisions for our own life. If we always make decisions based on other people's happiness, who is taking care of your happiness? People are more likely to thrive around you if they see that you are happy and see you thriving by making your own choices. Now that we are aware that we have our guidance system, how can we become aware of it and master it?

Bringing awareness to our guidance system
images (1).jpg
Source

I am sure you've already heard the saying, "Follow your gut feeling," this is your guidance system. This feeling is primordial for our survival; our "gut feeling" is usually never wrong. Have you ever been in a situation where you had this eerie feeling "in your gut"? Once you remove yourself from that situation, you realize that you removed yourself from a situation that could've been a disaster? We should be grateful to have this life navigator to help us in our daily lives. Some people have an instinct, while others have lost it through the years of living through other people's expectations.

Our guidance system has two polarities, the good and the bad feeling, which we feel through our emotions. When we are thinking or talking about something that is giving us a good feeling, we are usually making a choice that aligns with our life purpose. And if the opposite emotions come up, we should listen to it and adjust our choices to bring upon a good feeling. We can use our guidance system for anything in our lives, and we should become aware of it daily, but first, we need to feel the emotion, even "bad" ones. We need to accept every emotion that comes and then be mindful of them.

How to develop our guidance system

As mentioned above, the first step for developing our guidance system is by acknowledging our feelings and accepting them. Once we accept our feelings, we can move on and reflect on these feelings and identify which emotions are present. Here are a few keys to master your guidance system so that you can use it to guide you towards your life purpose:

1- Being emotional intelligent

Developing your emotional intelligence is key to your guidance system because it allows a person to acknowledge their emotions but not letting it overwhelm them. When blocked from our own emotions, we don't see clearly, and we can lose focus and ultimately make a wrong turn in our path. If we team up with our emotions, we are more likely to see the next clear path after a rocky one.

2- Mindfulness

The practice of mindfulness is all about bringing awareness to your body through mind, body, and soul. It helps to bring alignment within us, and from there, we are more able to make clear and conscious decisions. These days there are so many phone apps that a person can download to practice mindfulness from Headspace to Mindful Coach. I can't put enough emphasis on the importance of practicing mindfulness to live up to your life purpose.

3- Writing exercise

A great way to utilize our guidance system is by it writing down on a piece of paper. I've done this many times and use it with some teenage clients living with addictions. It helps to have everything right in front of you, and it can sometimes be a reality check.

a) Write down on a piece of paper: the situation, event, topic, or the concern.
Ex.: Should I quit my Monday-Friday job to pursue my passion for writing?

b) Identify the emotions towards it
Nervous and Excitement

Ex: c) Identify the reasons for these emotions.

Nervous: I am worried because it is a significant risk to take, but with high-risk can come high rewards.

Excitement: I am excited about the thought of following my passion. I am passionate about the idea of waking up in the morning and doing what I want to be doing.

To Sum it up

We should utilize our own guidance system that has most likely been hiding in our back burner for quite some time due to our rooted regiment to follow direction and guidance from the "wiser" adults. Furthermore, bringing awareness to our guidance system is the first step to utilizing it for the benefit of our life purpose.

Finally, my understanding of my life purpose is to do everything that guides me towards positive feelings; in other words, I follow my good feelings in everything that I do. I accept negative emotions as they come, but I don't ruminate too long on them. I often do the writing exercise to bring purpose to the negative feelings, which help to clear my path and make room for more positive experiences.

Now start mastering your guidance system to pursue your true-life purpose.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article and please feel free to share your knowledge or comment.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joseeb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is a fantastic article, however, I'm a little confused, because you already posted this yesterday. Is there a particular reason why you've posted it again?

I had hoped to send this post to the big curators, but it's generally not a good look to repost the same article twice, because they will be questioning why and wondering if you're just farming for votes.

Anyway, I look forward to hearing back from you, because I do like your ethos and writing so far and hope you will become an active member of the community here.

Thank you very much for your comment. It was a mistake, I am still new to this wonderful platform. I didn't know that if I posted it directly on the Natural Medicine page that it would also duplicate on my page. I tried to delete the first one, but I couldn't figure it out. Is there a way to delete articles?

Thank you so much for considering my article to be sent to the curators, it means a lot to me.

It can get some getting used to. Unfortunately, you can only delete something of it hasn't had any replies or votes on it. You can edit to just make a note and mention that the double post was a mistake, if you like.

Let's see if I can explain the technical side of how the front-ends work. Errk!

There is one blockchain that all the front-ends connect to and the original Steemit front-end displays everything that gets posted to it. Some of the other front-ends do too, but some choose to only display certain types of content, like naturalmedicine.io. In order for something to display on there you can either add the tag #naturalmedicine or post on the front-end. So this is why your first oisy didn't show there. However, your second post showed on both because Steemit displays everything. I hope that makes sense.

Please don't hesitate to ask if you are struggling with anything or have any other questions. The learning curve on here is steeper than other social media platforms and I'm serious when I say no question is stupid. I still don't understand some a lot of the way things work. Just enough to do what I need. 😉

Thank you for the clarification. I love this new platform up to now, it is challenging me and the community is definitely full of love and support. I feel blessed.

I recognize so much in this and have read and listened up on all these subjects a lot in the last couple of years. It's insane ( in the best way of the word ) how much I've learnt in the past 2.5 to 3 years thanks to Steemit, Discord and all the people I've met on here as well as the sources they use. The Law of Attraction and also the Book of Emotions or Ask and it is Given has been very helpful to me. I keep getting back to it, as is Taoism, Buddhism, Meditation, Mindfulness, etc.

Nice to meet yet another awake soul on here, who's trying to make the world a better place, one step at a time ;>)

P.S. If I may give you some advice to make your post look even better ( I wasn't aware of this either at the start ), try this next time when you use a picture:

[SOURCE or a name you wanna give the picture here](Url HERE)

You can do the same to link to another post.

To give you an example:

My latest post

If you've got any questions, feel free to ask in the Natural Medicine discord or in a DM

Here's some good vibes all the way from Portugal! ✨

And, if you're interested in using emojis in your blog, you might like this page:

Steemit Emojis Master List

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine - Thank-you for sharing these bits of wisdom that you had picked up through your reading! Something good to learn - to develop you inner guidance system and to utilize it to start living your life purpose!

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.

weelotus.png

Did you know we're running an 'Art is Healing' challenge this week on Steem? It's due February 8th and you can win up to 100 Steem plus tokens. Read more here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42