You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lots of things to do on a Saturday!

Regarding chicks via mail vs store, I'd go for mail every time. Chicks from the store have been double stressed (or triple) and exposed to all kinds of things. One sick batch of birds under your belt already....

Re: tractors: make sure there's PLENTY of room for the breed you select. I've forgotten what ones you said you were going to try....

Cool about your elders! They made it!

Sort:  

Oh really? Wow, I'm so glad you said something! I was thinking the store chicks would be less stressed, you may have just saved me a LOT of trouble. 💚

We're going with the standard Cornish cross broilers for now, maybe red rangers I the future, but the Cornish finish so much faster. I think the Salatin model calls for 2 square feet per bird and daily moves, we're gonna be running around 2.5 sf.

Prepare for Nate to be calling his yard a pasture 🤣 I've already got the areas named. North pasture, south pasture, Northeast pasture, and Southeast pasture. New complete property map is inbound! 💚🐓💚🐓💚🐓💚

Cornish are the hardest and the easiest to do. They don't require much space or moving, and then only for 48 days.

BUT! They have very specific feeding requirements and if you don't follow them, they can have health problems. Ask me how I know....

Also, if they grow too fast, they more resemble frankbirds than chickens, as they grow out of their feathering...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67851.83
ETH 3772.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61