You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Menstrual Cups {Another Thing I Wish I Knew About Sooner}

Thank you for writing this post! Hurray for talk about it! And I am glad you did. Lots to say!!!

I had a few friends tell me about the cup and I questioned it myself. Without comparing it to the alternative crap we use, what are the bad things that can come out of it? Then, what happens if we don't change it in time? Apart from a leak like the other things, this is a cup, so will the leak be disastrous? Could be a silly question but we all know what happens when a cup tips over... Does it happen?

I haven't had the chance to research it and then of course, I forget about it.

The other things about the panty one. I am also a heavy flower and thought that it wouldn't be enough. Especially during those times where we stand up, or sneeze and cough. Oh will that make a problem for the cup too? LOL

I don't know many of the alternatives either, and never heard of using a sponge...and free bleeding... how does that work? Sounds messy.

this is definitely a topic that isn't talked about enough, or taught about enough. I know for myself, I had to figure out everything, on how to put on a pad, how use a tampon (I cant use those anymore) etc. Today kids have the internet to help which helps them a lot. Would have helped us avoid many stains and pains.

It would be awesome if you could cover the nutrition side for that time. Would probably help me with figuring out the major energy loss days before and during. All I want to do is sleeeeeeeep. And perhaps help with those cramps that keep us from being able to stand straight....or even stand.

BTW, Im the snappy, dont touch me, 1 km wide personal space person LOL

Sort:  

Hhhmm, perhaps I need a whole moon time series! I'm really grateful for all the other folks who have shared their experiences for me to learn from online, so I'm happy to pay it forward to do my part to keep the conversation going. There really is so much to discuss!

So I probably need to stress again there is a really big learning curve with the cups. And I think if you get one that doesn't fit, it really just won't seal so you will get leaks. Even when you do find the right one I have found occasionally I still don't get it in right, but at least I generally notice pretty quickly and can fix it. Yes, it can start leaking once you've filled it up, as well. I am still figuring out based on what day it is in my cycle how frequently I need to empty it, so I pretty much always have some form of backup if you will. One or two nights I know I have to get up in the middle of the night, as well, but that's no different than usual.

I've also read differing experiences on having to take it out or not when going to the bathroom. The pressure can push it out of place, so generally I find if I'm going to the bathroom anyway I'll just go ahead and empty it. The shower really is the best place to change it, though as you don't have to worry about the mess!

All that being said, I can imagine for many women the cup may just not work. I was pretty darn determined to keep on trying since I was pretty sick of using tampons and really wanted to lower my waste output each month. I got a bit discouraged the first few times, so I was so excited when I started having some success! It was nice doing the research to find that there are actually a whole lot of other women my age who had similar experiences to me.

I would definitely recommend finally taking a look around and doing some more of your won research. It is really enlightening and can help you find the right options if you do decide to try something else. If nothing else, it will help you be more informed when your girls need the info! I'm totally looking forward to seeing some of the other Steem ladies weigh in here, as well.

Research is definitely the key to this and talking about it makes it less stressful and less embarrassing. We shouldn't have to feel that way or even shameful for what our bodies do naturally and have no control over.

Im hoping my questions sort of broke the ice for others to help engage a conversation with others, maybe making them feel like their questions are not bad questions and are ok to ask away if needed or even just give them ideas on what to look for when researching.

I know I have my homework to do for when my girls get there. Emma is 6 right now and seeing as how some girls can get them so early, I need to be properly prepared. She will be 7 in April! EEK! My mother and I haven't had this kind of talk before and it left me in a shitty spot when trying to figure it all out. I don't want my kids to go through the same thing. And if need be, that they could be that friend that helps out another in such a sticky situation.

Spread the word people! If it wasn't for us women, there would be no population! :P

If you think I’m surprised even a smidgen that you’d be the one to resteem this, Miss Foxy, you probably think I think tattoos tickle and aren’t addicting.

HAHA! But...they do tickle :p In some spots. I swear to you, I laughed during one of my tattoos. inside ankle... one part did tickle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66