You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you prepared for a life without power?

in dPoll4 years ago

Voted for

  • No power is a huge problem

My computer, my washing machine, my fridge/freezer, my stove, my kitchen machines and my lamps need electricity. If there is a power failure, it will be fixed very quickly. But if it were to last longer, it would be a huge problem. But I would not blame the power supply companies, I would try to solve problems that I can solve myself. For example, I would always test the frozen products to see if they were still hard. If not, I would put them in the refrigerator, because since it is well sealed, it stays cool for a relatively long time. If it takes too long, then I fry, oops, 😆, I can't do that anymore. Then I make a campfire in the garden and fry the food, because then it will keep longer. Because of water I don't have any problems, but I still have it, even if the electricity goes out.. But since there was once here a flood, where we had no more drinking water, I have mineral water for emergencies. It can be the cheapest, because when you have an emergency, you are grateful. I have a gas heater in the basement which warms up the heaters and also makes the water warm for washing up and you can take a shower. If I hadn't water, I would inform the supply companies, that I hadn't water without electricity and I would also buy mineral water.

Sort:  

If you have a freezer and no power it's better to keep it closed. A freezer can keep your food good for many hours. Checking it will let the cold out and it's better of in the freezer as fridge.

Power companies do pay you if your food gets spoiled or something is broke. They are responsible.

You have everything working on electricity so you will need to make a huge campfire to cook, boil water and with some luck you can grill on a a too no and make/use your own solar oven. 😁
I hope it won't rain, you have matches and enough firewood.

Central heath is on gas but power is needed too to switch that gas heater on. I had one in my former home (central heat and water).

Thank you for your vote. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42