You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which extern wallet do you use for Steem?

in dPoll5 years ago

I used to have some in openledger, also used to store some in ETH in remitano, ever since last year when major exchanges started to disassociate with steem, in the worry of afraid of getting freeze, I decided to transfer everything back to STEEMitwallet. At this point, I'm thinking of Nano S.

https://steemportugal.com/store-your-cryptocurrencies-safely-use-a-hardware-wallet-ledger-nano-s/

!tip !shop

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I cannot do anything with it. I cannot change it into ETH or Tron, I cannot sell it, not buy Steem or transfer it back.
They still do not answer so what does this mean? They keep it and fill their pockets with it?

Blocktrades was it last week for several days but that message "under maintenance" is gone. What I do not understand is why they decide without telling me what I am allowed to do with my cryptocurrency.

Thanks for the names and link I search for further possibilities.
It it an option to transfer what is left to steem-engine and from there transfer it further or buy?

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Usually exchanges would have an account in steem Blockchain, to use that as their input output channel. The biggest problem is, your crypto is not yours when they're not in your wallet. The exchange or broker will have all said and right of use of your crypto stored there. And if they decided to freeze your asset, they can do so, right or wrong they have the final say.

On the contrary, blocktrades is slightly better in terms of they do NOT hold your crypto at any given time. They're more of a broker than exchange. You can choose to go through them by changing your steem to other crypto before send them out to your other wallets.

I haven't came across any news about bitvavo disconnecting with steem. May be it's a one off thing. Whatever that happens, there is no safe place to keep crypto. Hardware wallet is the only way to really safe keeping. Even that, u gotta safe keep the seed in case of the damn hardware damage 😂 and if you couldn't recover which means those crypto will be forever stuck there.

Posted using Partiko Android

This bitvavo account is a broker too. I can buy and sell all kinds of cryptocurrencies with it and it's attached to my bank account. I believe they are Dutch and need ID everything.

All the other cryptocurrencies can be transferred it's the same with Tron just Steem not. Last week this was exactly the same with block trades. I could not change my SBD so I gave it away.

What you say is this. I can only leave my steem in the steemit wallet and transfer it to other Steemians. If I transfer it to an extern wallet to sell or change it for another cryptocurrency I can drop dead? This means to be a bank is more secure as bitvavo.com
I bought Steem with euro's via them and now I lost my euros and Steem and have no rights?

That risk it a is million times bigger as with a normal bank account and a very good reason to forbid cryptocurrency. It sounds to scam to me. Sooner or later you need a wallet to lay hands on your money. How do people do that if they live from it? It cannot be the wallet owner simply takes it.

May they have a very good excuse for this like dropping dead instantly. Steem's value is dropping fast noticed it? Tomorrow it's 0 and I can have mine back.

Put it this way, crypto currency is no different then game token at the arcade. As long as some broker or exchange willing to buy and sell it with fiat currency, it has a value. When they don't, we're fucked. Sorry for the vulgar, but its the best way to describe it.

Talking about why crypto? That simply because the banks is even more crooked then the drop dead crypto. Imagine when you need to spend millions of Bolivar in Venezuela just for a banana, you can spend 2 steem for the same banana. Which one would you rather earn and use?

There's no right or wrong. Do what you think it's please you. I have pumped in some cash and getting ready to buy more at 0.11 😂 I'm a crazy sick Asian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43