Walking on the beach on a cloudy day!

in Photography4 years ago

hello steemit. I have a long time to make a post and I have almost forgotten how to do it But here I am starting a new photography post. I love photography and writing makes me feel relaxed but in the last 6 months, I moved away from them, both of my hobbies.

Yesterday morning, I walked my dog on the coastal road of my town and the weather was very cloudy. The low light from the clouds and the morning sea breeze was making the atmosphere a sensuous experience and very quickly I grabbed my phone and started to take pictures.

IMG_20200416_120351.jpg

My feelings were mixed with joy and despair cause after a long time I was feeling this excitement of taking nice pictures but it was strange to see the beach empty, without any people walking, swimming or relaxing and enjoying the sea breeze. As long as I remember this beach, in April, which the tourist season was starting it was ready to welcome the first visitors of our town. This year, due to the lockdown of corona virus the image I see while I am walking at this beach is totally different. There are no sunbeds and umbrellas on the sand, no one swimming, and all the shops and restaurants in the area are closed. This picture may be a little sad but it makes me and my photographic eye feel an artistic excitement.

20200416_114956.jpg

The picture above with the umbrella is the first picture I took. I always loved to capture unusual sceneries that indicate ravages of time and abandonment so this one caught my attention. A huge wooden umbrella which blocking the way to the beach, exposed to weather conditions,the rust on the railings and the floor, the sign of the cafe that serves at the beach in the summer, and all these clouds behind the empty beach made me to capture the first photo of the day.

DSC_0371 (2).JPG

IMG_20200416_115653.jpg

DSC_1170 (2).jpg

Something else that caught my attention yesterday during my photography walk at the beach was the construction tough machines that were working there. This is also an unusual picture because they lay the sand at the beach only once a year before the summer begins. Also, the combination of the rough sea, the clouds, and the construction tough machines made me capture a couple more photos expecting an impressive result.

20200425_202041.jpg

IMG_20200416_115830.jpg

IMG_20200416_120208.jpg

In the next picture, I have captured a Volvo car outside a modern seaside hotel. In my eyes, it looks like a lifestyle Instagram picture or advertisement of the car. The hotel is beautiful with the palm trees and the wooden details. I've noticed that wood is a huge trend in architecture in recent years and is used by many seaside hotels and shops, which makes me wonder how they maintain it as the saltiness of the sea destroys it. It is very beautiful but does it worth it?

IMG_20200416_121028.jpg

Every time I see a boat in motion, I can't resist taking a photograph of it. I like the picture I see while the boat tears the sea. This time I didn't have my camera with me and the resolution of the image is not so good but the effort counts. ;)

20200425_192239.jpg

This statue with the dolphins is the emblem of my town. Between the dolphins, it is written the ancient name of the town. which was RITHY (ΡΙΘΥ). Today's name is Rethymno. I couldn't leave without taking a snapshot of it.

DSC_0063 (2).jpg

At the picture below we see an electric bike of the municipality. there are many of them scattered throughout the town. Unfortunately these bikes were a bad investment of the municipality as no one uses them cause everybody prefers the lime electric scooters. As a result, the town is full of these blue bikes and most of them are damaged and rusty from the salty sea.

The lifeguard tower waits for the summer to come in order to avoid the loneliness of the winter. standing there proud and endure all the difficulties of weather

IMG_20200416_120831.jpg

It was a nice morning walk thanks for coming with me through my photographs. I had a long time to write in English so please forgive any mistakes that I might have done.

Thanks for stepping by see you next time.

DSC_0074 (2).jpg

DSC_0100 (4).JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85