Millipede matingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Photography4 years ago

In Steemit I am beginning to find the recreation and practice of knowledge that I ceased when I decided to retire from hard agricultural work. However, I am still active on a domestic scale in my backyard and garden so as not to lose the habit.

As a lover of biology, I have become interested in photographing aspects of biodiversity in the Guarapiche Forest Reserve, located about 12 kilometers from my residence in Maturín, Monagas State, Venezuela. So I take advantage of going to the ecological areas when there is no rainy weather. I have to walk about three kilometers on a narrow path with abundant vegetation.

I went out with the idea of taking pictures of some parrots and ended up doing it with a couple of millipedes that were in the middle of their mating process. It happens that I tripped and fell to the wet ground, luckily I only suffered a small bruise on my left leg; at 81 years of age I've taken a few blows from significant falls in my work, so this small bruise I didn't give it any importance. However, I did notice a couple of millipedes that were mating.

They were in the shade, with the substrate a bit damp and no peeping toms around. I took advantage of taking some pictures before a couple of intruders ruined the romantic scene. The sequence of images speaks for itself. I selected the four best ones from at least 6 dozens of photos, left the dimension at 960 x 720 pixels and adjusted a little the intensity and saturation to the following values: 9 and 4, respectively, to improve the focus and visualization.

Milpiés6.png

milpiés10.png

milpiés8.png

milpiés.png

I used an Appel smartphone, model iPhone 6 plus to take the pictures on the 17th of this month, at 11 am.
Maturín, Monagas state, Los Llanos ecoregion in Venezuela.

Thank you for visiting and commenting on this post.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16