I used to work on a Reptile Farm

in Photography4 years ago

A few years ago I used to work on a Reptile farm specializing in breeding Many reptiles along with Insects.
The farm has since closed down so I thought why not show some pictures and share some stories of my time there

This Animal below is a Nile monitor

IMG_1122 (2).JPG

IMG_1535.JPG

Some animals there were really cute!
IMG_1125.JPG

While some like this purple baboon Tarantula, not so much! (Don't worry, that's just a shed)
IMG_1428.JPG

Some things I never got pictures of like the millions of maggots and worms that would come and go to be sold as live food although I did manage to get a picture of some of the non-live food. Theses are fully grown frozen Hares; along with them were frozen adult Rats and Mice all the way down to just born (then frozen) that we called 'Pinkys'
IMG_2745.JPG

Some happy looking Geckos resting below the heat lamp
IMG_0691.JPG

This was a shipment of Tanzanian black & olive baboon Tarantulas. At one point when re-housing them, One got out and made it half way up a colleagues trousers in mere seconds! That was quite alarming to say the least!
IMG_0553.JPG

Importing exotic Animals and Insects into different countries sometimes has complications from customs officials not knowing whether or not a species is illegal to bring in as they may be poisonous or carry disease; as well from an ethical stand point like whether or not the species are endangered or being transported in poor conditions.
IMG_0552.JPG

All the Tarantulas you see here had died in transit. we didn't know for sure but from what I recall was that the shipment spent a long time waiting to be cleared by customs officials which we believed caused them to perish costing My boss a lot of money
IMG_0551.JPG

Eurycantha calcarata; also known as the biggest Stick Insect I had ever seen!
IMG_1253.JPG

The Reptile room was the most off limits in regards to taking pictures so I don't have many but here are 3 that I managed to sneak.

Here we have a really cool Tree Frog
IMG_0424.JPG
Here's really fat Toad
IMG_0423.JPG
and lastly my bosses pet Alligator
IMG_9926.JPG

Working at this farm was a blast and if I could go back and work there I would in a heart beat! But sadly as I said earlier, this place no longer exists and will just have to stay in my memories as the most dirty but also most fun Job I've ever had!

Thanks for taking a minute to check out my post!

I really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39