WEEKLY CONTEST // Home Garden / Gardening " For Steem Geography Community // @youngjohn

in Steem Geography3 years ago
Good day steemians, My name is John sediong, I am from the southern part of Nigeria. I want to thank this community for giving me this opportunity to write about my garden.

HOW I STARTED GARDENING
I started gardening when I was a kid. I could remember my parents had a small garden few centimetres from our backyard. We planted mostly vegetables like pepper, pumpkin, okro, cucumber, cent leaf, water leaf, etc. Plants like corn were mostly planted by March, April and May since they are seasonal plants and due to the weather condition in southern part of Nigeria. I was particularly fond of watering since it was the easiest thing I could do then as a kid. That was how I started gardening.

ABOUT MY GARDEN
My garden is just opposite where I live. It consist mostly native plants, cereals and vegetables which inspires our Nigerian dishes such as pounded yam, pepper soup, jollof rice etc. I know you may wonder what kind of plants in my garden brings such bold, spicy flavour and distinctive taste to the dishes mentioned above. Below are list of plants in my garden and the dishes i use them to prepare.

IMG_20210510_183240_3.jpg

PLANTS IN MY GARDEN AND THEIR USES
1. Fluted pumpkin leaf

The leaves are green in colour. I use the leaves mostly in preparing local dishes such as yam or plantain porridge, vegetable soup etc. Why I planted fluted pumpkin is because they can grow in poor soil and are fairly drought resistant.

IMG_20210510_182803_1.jpg

2. Scent-leaf.

Scent leaf according to its name has sweet-smelling leaves. I use it in pepper soups, yam dishes and stews.

IMG_20210511_114240_9.jpg

3. Water-leaf

water-leaf is a leafy green vegetable used in preparing afang soup, a special dish in the southern part of nigeria.

IMG_20210510_183401_1.jpg

4. Corn

I planted corn due to the season. In southern nigeria we plant corn between march and april.

IMG_20210510_183150_0.jpg

WHY I LOVE GARDENING

I love gardening beacause it makes me spend less since i have most of the things needed to prepare food in my garden. I also like plants and green environments.

me in my garden

IMG_20210510_183443_9.jpg
Thanks for viewing my garden.

Cc: @badsha1
Cc: @belenguerra
Cc: @bright-obias

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations @youngjohn! I enjoyed your garden very much and learnt a lot about the use of your plants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48