My Favourite SeasonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Living where I do, Autumn, Winter and Spring don't come near to how wonderful summer is. Ok, Autumn is pretty nice when the leaves change colour, but because I live by the sea and the South Downs National Park, there are plenty of things to do when the sun comes out.

I live on the South coast of England in a town called Eastbourne. Because it's England, it gets hot, but not too hot and is always shorts & T-shirt weather which is by far my favourite attire (in winter when it's freezing outside, the postman asks me why I'm in shorts!)

It's also great to be outside with my toddler who loves nothing more than running around in fields or splashing and swimming in his paddling pool. Summer (for me at least) makes parenting so much easier as I can also enjoy the sun and paddle my feet with him.

20200731 04.JPG

It's also the time that Ice Cream vans come out and I love a Mr Whippy...

IMG_0204.JPG

Summer also sees the tennis come to Eastbourne with the ATP and WTA tours. I got to see Novak Djokovic a couple of years ago (although only for 10 minutes and then it rained all day). I don't like the summer when it rains.

DSC02297.JPG

Lots of things happen and if you're sat in a pub garden, you might even catch some traditional morris dancing.

IMG_3949.jpg

And I almost forgot, summer also sees the Eastbourne air show...

DSC02320.JPG

DSC02316.JPG

The only downside is that every other year, there's no football on but luckily, we get the Euros this year and World Cup next year so I'll have no complaints for the next 2 summers at least.

There are so many things to do near here once the sun comes out so here are just a few pictures to show you how wonderful things are here in the summer. I don't think words can do the season, and what comes with it justice.

IMG_4018.jpg

DSC02036.JPG

IMG_4395.jpg

IMG_4417.jpg

IMG_4851.jpg

IMG_4588.jpg

🌞🌞 No contest 🌞🌞 Summer wins 🌞🌞


Note: These are all my own photos

As always, thanks for organising and judging @belenguerra & @worldgeography

Sort:  

I forgot that the 1st picture's the thumbnail - I should probably have chosen one of the other ones!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63