🌍🌍Steem Geography facts 4: ATOLLS

Hello, Steem Geography community!! I'm back today with a fascinating geographical fact. This time, I'll write about Attols.
Have you ever come across them? If not, that's fine. I also heard about them randomly a few days ago when I read about them in a geographic blog, and I was excited, so I did some research and in this post, I will write what I have discovered about these strange type of island, which appears in the pictures as "ring" on land 💍 like a strip of land with a lagoon in the center and is known as ATOLL!!!!

maldives-4354115_1280.jpgpixabay

🏝️Coral on Emojipedia 🏝️The weird fact about atolls is that they are coral islands. To be precise, they are structures consisting of coral "societies", which are ANIMALS and not plants or rocks as we all think. They are also very intelligent. (It's worth watching "chasing corals" on Netflix.

yanguang-lan-nPtKc0jqNus-unsplash.jpg unsplash

💥HOW EXACTLY ARE THEY CREATED AND WHY DO THEY HAVE THIS SHAPE ???💥

🌋 Sometimes underwater volcanoes erupt on the earth. When the lava gushes from the seabed, it "freezes" directly and stabilizes, and then more lava gushes out that freezes Over the already frozen solid lava, and this sometimes continues until the volcano "tops" so much that its tip protrudes Above THE SURFACE OF THE SEA, creating a volcanic island!

😋Coral communities grow around those "new" islands made of nutritious and delicious volcanic material, which build huge and continuous biological structures as hard as stone!

🌊 However, these new volcanic islands that have formed coral reefs "recede" and sink, leaving only the ring formed by the corals!!! That's how Atolls are made.
attols.jpg
credit

I will not write many scientific details in my geographic facts posts because I want to hold the reader's attention by making them more interesting and a little humorous. For further reading you can visit these links. 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

...seems that you are a geography freak and that's cool :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48