CONTEST ANNOUNCEMENT !! STREET CONTEST BY @ruthjoe

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,

Am happy to be here again to partake in this interesting contest. Thank you to @steem-geography , @bright-obias @belenguerra and @fendit @badsha1 for putting up this contest.

The contest today is on street contest and am here to write about my street.

"STREET CONTEST"
Street contest as the name implies is a contest that is looking at various street in different towns of different countries.source

I live in Lagos, in Nigeria. I formally lived at Ikeja but just moved to Bariga so i will be sharing my street at bariga with you all. The name of my street at bariga is latif Ajeleyi street, ilaje.
Below is the map of bariga showing my street.

Screenshot_20210419-181837.png
Source

WHAT IS SPECIAL ABOUT MY STREET AND WHERE IS IT LOCATED.

Like i said above my street is located at Bariga in ilaje precisely number 19 latif . But geographically. Bariga is found at the mainland part of lagos state. It has a coordinate of 6° 32' 6" north , 3° 23' 41" east.

A picture of my street
IMG_20210418_183616_3.jpg
What3words
///lectures.incline.foiled

IMG_20210418_183605_7.jpg
What3words
///breath.blanks.recall

This are the various reasons why my street is special.

  • Security : let it be known that bariga is a hot region, i mean its a place where you don't move about anyhow especially at night or very early in the morning. But its not so for my street. My street is secured, it has local vigilante security or group securing the place and making sure everyone is safe. You can walk about freely no matter the time you come back to your house.

  • closeness to market/ and has lots of shops : i remember one issue i had living at ikeja was the fact that my house was so far from the market, and in my street there are no stores, shop or supermarkets where one could buy things. I will always plan and plan before going to the market which was really far. But moving into my new location here at bariga the story has changed. I can even get whatever i want around my street without needing to go to the market and if i choose to go to the market its fine because its not far.

  • lively / busy : my street is a lively one because it has a lot of people, buildings and stores around. Although its busy but its not noisy

  • Electricity: i love light and love wherever there is light. Before now our street has had issues with having electricity, in in fact we had days we have light and days we don't but now things has really changed. We have constant light everyday, and am so in love with this new development.

THE PROS OF MY STREET

Aside the special things i mentioned which are the advantages about my street above such as ;

  • security
  • closeness to market
  • lively
  • Electricity

There are disadvantages my street has too which includes

  • USUALLY WATER LOGGED: Because of an improper drain system in my street whenever it rains the street is filled up with water. This is the biggest disadvantage of my street. Sometimes the water fills everywhere that there will be no way to cross. Its really a big challenge.

  • THE SECOND CHALLENGE IS EROSION

IMG_20210418_150902_6.jpg

My street when it rains

IMG_20210418_151109_9.jpg
My street

HOW I PLAN TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM OF MY STREET AS A GEOGRAPHER IF GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY.

  • CONSTRUCTION OF MORE DRAINAGE SYSTEM: if am given the opportunity i will construct more drainage system in my street which will help the flow of water whenever it rains, good drainage system in my area will lead to reduction of dirt and mosquitoes breeding. Will also reduce erosion.

  • REPAIR OR CONSTRUCTION OF ROADS :
    i would do a totally repair for street that has been damaged due to erosion and repair the ones that are needs to be repaired. Doing this will aid proper flow of water into the drains when it rains.

CONCLUSION

I love my street and i will love the best for my street.

Thank you for reading about my street.

Special regards to
@bright-obias
@booming04
@steemitblog

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you my friend!!

 3 years ago 

You are welcome my friend. I have missed your comment

 3 years ago 

There is no problem! Please don't follow the link that someone has left you below

 3 years ago 

Alryt thank u so much

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-178214
Subscribe community.write good post.we will gave you upvote and send your post for booming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55