New Contest : The most Popular and Rare Crops in your area! ||@Inspiration

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians...
A nice contest again been organized in steem Geography by @badsha1. am so glad to be a member of this community because this Community always keeps it members working and it also helps members to aim curations.

POPULAR CROPS IN MY AREA

The Theme of the Contest says "Most Popular Crops In Your Area". I be telling us about the most of #popular and most common crops found in my area.
Firstly, I start by telling us where I come from.
Am from Rivers State Nigeria, in Ikwerre local Govt.

In my area we grow so many crops but one is most and more popular in my area, it is found in every place in my area, Iadies and gentlemen I introduce you to

#CASSAVA CROPS


IMG_20210530_102421_450.jpg

Cassava is a seasonal crops planted in my area, during the period of #February to #November. It is the most common crops found in my Area, both strangers and landlords cultivates cassava.
Presently now every household in my area is currently working on his/her farm, cultivating Cassava.
I will explain how cassava is been planted or been cultivated in my area, although other places meant have a different way of cultivating it.

IMG_20210530_101432_696.jpg
Newly planted cassava

Cassava is planted or cultivated with it's stem, unlike other crops uses seed but in planting cassava we use stem. Growing cassava it needs constant rain fall or water.

STEPS ON HOW TO CULTIVATE


★You site out a piece of land that should be used for the cultivation of the crops, either a garden or a farm, but I recommend a farm because it is mostly good at farm.

★For cultivation to start you need to clear up the farm or garden, making it set for cultivation to begin.

★Like I said will used stem when planting cassava, now you cut the stem into different part, the stem is then now buried on the ground, two or three parts us buried on the grand. After planting the cassava it takes #one week before it grows out from the ground

IMG_20210530_102545_124.jpg
Checking my recent plants

★After some period of time you clear the unwanted weeds so that the cassava would survive.

IMG_20210530_101930_784.jpg
Working on my cassava farm

IMG_20210530_101911_243.jpg

#Cassava takes almost 5 to 6 months before germinating and Producing seeds that can now be used for different purposes.

IMG_20210530_103120_138.jpg
Full grow cassava

IMG_20210530_102254_858.jpg
Nursing my crops

IMPORTANCE OF CASSAVA


When the cassava produces seed it can be used for many purposes of Importance.

★Source of food
Cassava can be eaten, many good today that are prepared in Nigeria comes from cassava products. after processing cassava it can used either for Garri or Fufu, even as a local starch.

★It shells can used as source of manure in the farm or garden.

★Means of Earning money
Cassava earns alot of Nigerians money today because is one of the most crops or food in Nigeria today. Many unemployed youth today in my area works on cassava farms today.

MARKET TODAY

Cassava is seen as one of the most selling products in Nigeria market and foreign market. either you use it for production of food or for making other things like starch e.t.c.
The price of cassava in Nigeria market is increasing on daily basis due to demands supply, many Nigerian eats it .

FB_IMG_16223654424455442.jpg
Harvested cassava seed

LEAST COMMON CROPS IN MY AREA


Been the least common crops do not mean that it is of no important, just that people in my area don't like planting or cultivating it

#Cucumber us the least common crop planted in my area. Although you meant see it in few people farm but not as popular like other crops. will normally buy from other neighboring communities around us.


#Cassava is a very nice crops planted in my country and it is of many Benefits and it is also profitable.

Cc
@belenguerra
@bright-obias
@badsha1
I really appreciates your efforts and support

Thank you great steemians...

PhotoCAMERALocation
Infinix smart 5dual cameraelele Rivers State

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85