My visit to 'Ratargul Swamp Forest' (রাতারগুল জলাবন) - Steem Geography Contest

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Bangladesh has one of the few freshwater swamp forests in the world. It's a wonderful experience to visit inside the swamp forests. The land is filled with water but you will get the feeling of the forest at the same time. It's located in Gowain River, Fatehpur Union, Gowainghat, Sylhet, Bangladesh.

IMG_1623858935501.jpg

I had the chance to visit this wonderful forest twice. My first visit was in 2014 and then again in 2016. The rainy season is the best time to enjoy the appearance of this forest.

Ratargul Swamp Forest / রাতারগুল জলাবন is full of different wild animals and thousands of trees. I got to see hundreds of birds, monkeys, chipmunks, and a few snacks also. The forest is very special because of its natural character. It's like a floating island with a whole different world inside it.

The area is not huge, during rainy reasons, we need to take a boat ride to go inside the forest. It's like an Island on the Gowain River. You can go to this wikipedia link for more info about this forest.

IMG_1623858940351.jpg

IMG_1623858942659.jpg

Inside view of the forest.

IMG_1623858949725.jpg

IMG_1623858955160.jpg

IMG_1623858970841.jpg

From the watchtower.

You can get a mesmerizing view of the whole area from the watchtower. The best thing is, only a few tourists visit this place. So you can enjoy the sanity on the watchtower too. The fresh air and the green on the land- blue on the sky will seem like a worth to visit place for sure.

20141219_141225.jpg

Here I'm taking a ride on the boat.

Device: Samsung Galaxy J2
Date: December, 2016
Location: Ratargul Swamp Forest, Sylhet - Bangladesh
Location link: https://what3words.com/waveform.emancipate.boating

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. This is my entry to the Famous Forest In your Region contest by @badsha1. Thanks to @belenguerra @bright-obias for this community.

Thanks in advance for reading my post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi dear friend, please remember to offer details of the camera or mobile phone used.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for letting me know. I forgot to add that. Maybe it happened because I didn't see that in the rules.
No problem. I edited it lately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74