A NEW WEEKEND ➡️ A NEW CONTEST!! 🍕 Describe a typical dish from your country 🍲 / UN NUEVO FIN DE SEMANA ➡️ UN NUEVO CONCURSO !! 🍕 Describe un plato típico de tu país 🍲

in Steem Geography3 years ago

Greetings Steemians.

It is really a honour to be given the opportunity to participate in such a wonderful contest. This here is the type of contest I really love, I am a foodie. I cannot forget to a very big thank you to @belenguerra and the community (@worldgeography) for their tireless efforts to ensure the growth and development of this great community.

What's the meal?

IMG_20210322_073801_980.jpg
Source

My favorite meal is egusi soup and garri.

IMG_20210322_074237_290.jpg

Source

  • Before I continue.
    What is egusi?
    IMG_20210322_073557_501.jpg

Egusi is a West African name for the seeds of plants like squash, melons, and gourds that, when dried and grinded become a staple ingredient in many West African dishes.

What elements does it carry?

It carries plenty of nutrients like: fat, proteins, vitamins and few minerals.

if you know the recipe because you do it frequently, would you like to share it? (your magic recipe forged with time and family, please don't copy one from the Internet 😊 )

The following are vital recipes used to make egusi soup. Not everybody can actually overcome the temptation of egusi soup.

  • Salt (to taste)
  • 3-4 cups egusi (grinded melon seed).
  • already boiled meat.
  • crayfish.
    _ 1-2 Onions bulb (depending on the quantity).
  • 4-5 tablespoon of palm oil.
  • pumpkin leaves or bitter leaf (preferred choice).
  • Water.

What region is this dish from?

Many regions in Nigeria eats this particular dish and these regions includes: the igbos, the yorubas, the Efik people even the hausas do eat this particular meal.
It is like a general meal.

Where and when do you remember having tried it?

Since school resumed I have not been able to eat my favorite meal again. I vividly remember that a day before I left for school, my favorite meal was prepared as a farewell to me and it tasted really great.

Add an experience you've had where that food was involved. For example, a trip, a birthday, a party.?

Egusi soup been my favorite meal, so I cannot afford to miss any occasion where it is been given as a souvenir. It was at birthday party of my dearest sister, it really was fun not until the meat didn't go round, then some persons started frowning but as for me meat or no meat I still enjoy eating my favorite meal. @belenguerra look for a way, so you too can taste this soup of mine.

Thanks for reading.

CC:
@steemitblog
@booming01
@booming02
@steemcurator03
@booming04
@josepha
@bright-obias

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello, I have read several posts by Nigerian users, participating in this contest and I am very struck by your cuisine, the use of seeds in the dishes, the prominence they give and the touch of each one of you to your dishes.
#onepercent #venezuela

 3 years ago 

Oh... so egusi are seeds! Thanks for explained that! Well... I will definetly have to try this meal, it has become famous with this contest! Egusi soup... mmm I want a piece of that right now!

This is a very clear post, I really enjoyed reading it!!

Thanks for sharing my friend!

Thank you so much..
@belenguerra it is really nice and delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10