My entry for the contest on steem geography community: World discussion time; A Call To Deliberate On World Issues by @alexanderpeace.

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Its my pleasure to participate in another contest in this amazing community. I want to thank @bright-obias, @belenguerra, @badsha1 for this opportunity.

Screenshot_20210607-192807_1.png
Source

The world we know have been faced with so many challenges which includes insecurities, climate changes, hunger, bad governance etc. The problems of the world we know can never be said to be overemphasized. But am going to streamline my participation in this contest to the problems we face in my own country, Nigeria.

Screenshot_20210607-193023_1.png
SourceNigerian flag

The challenges and problems of my country Nigeria.

Nigeria is my country. It's called the lion of Africa. It's blessed with so many natural resources and richness but my country is also fraught with so much challenges which ranges from corruption to bad roads, to electricity instability, to shortage of water supplies, lack of employment opportunities, insecurities and etc. Am going to be elaborating on some of these problems.

Corruption.

One of the major problems of my country is the problem of corruption. The corruption in the leadership of the country is quiet upsetting. This the major problem of my country and it has sunk the country and it's economy into abject poverty. The corruption in the leadership has led to embezzlement of the nation's fund and it's misappropriation. Fund signed out to handle major projects in the country and better the life of it's citizens are not been used for what they are meant for. The leaders syphoned these funds and put them into foreign accounts for themselves and their generations to come. The corruption in the country was so bad that the government had to set up a body called EFCC. Environmental and financial crimes commission in a bid to check the corruption in our country. Some of the embezzled funds have been recovered from foreign banks where they where kept and returned to the nation's purse.

Lack of basic life amenities.

Since the funds assigned to make better the living conditions of the citizens are not been appropriated rightly, it has led to lack of basic social amenities in the nation which includes good roads, electricity, shelter. There are some good roads in the nation but majorly, our roads are dilapidated and not up to standard. Many cities are battling with bad roads especially now during the rainy season. And this had led to high cost of transportation.
My country still battles with electricity supply. There are no steady supply of electricity and some places are even without electricity for example, the place where I live had been in total darkness for years now. We have to settle for the use of generator set and this is very depressing.

Lack of employment opportunities.

Many youths are unemployed. They graduate from school and their are no jobs anywhere. There are millions of youths been churned out from the universities every year and the government is not creating new jobs. This lack of employment opportunities have turned some of the youths to hoodlums in a bid to survive. I have also been a victim of these jobless youths. Who rob their fellows at gun point.

Poor education.

The state of the many state universities in my country is nothing to write home about. The education standards are below average and the teachings are obsolete compared to other African nation's like Ghana. There are no basic amenities such as good laboratories and teaching aids for better grasping of knowledge. The rich resort to private universities and sending their wards abroad for better education.
These and many more like lack of good healthcare facilities, insecurities plague my nation Nigeria.

How the problems of my country has affected me.

As a citizen of nigeria, I've been affected first hand by the challenges in my country.
I have been a graduate for 10years and yet no job. I after I finished my youth service in 2014, I graduated 2011. I spent years moving from one place to the other. I literally armed myself with my CV both physically and on the internet searching for reasonable employment opportunities all to no avail. So I had to settle to personal hustlings to make ends meet.

Secondly, due to the lack of job opportunities, the youths are on the streets looking for ways to make ends meet and they don't mind robbing others. I've been a victim of robbers on gun point severally trying to steal phones and money and other personal items from me.

Thirdly, the lack of basic amenities has affected me tremendously. As I write this, My area of residence has been without electricity for years. Even when we had it , it was always epileptic. So I had to resort to paying people to charge my phone and I had to live without electricity and resort to the use of generator when there's enough money to fuel it or stay in darkness.

Fourthly, the roads to my community is very bad. It's hectic negotiating my way through daily life activities and this had led to the increase in transportation cost and financial pressure.

What I'll do if I happen to be in leadership of my country

The problem of my country is basically a leadership problem. If I happen to be part of the countries leadership, in my capacity, the first thing I'll do will be to change the face of the leadership. Il flush out the old, corrupt and incompetent leaders who embezzle the nation's funds and reinstate new leaders of integrity who would put the nation and the people first before themselves.
Il proceed to ensure that the different leaders in the various state use the ur allocations properly to build good roads and provide basic social amenities to their citizens. Failure to do so will require prosecution from the law as I must ensure that no one is above the law.
I'll create job opportunities in different sectors of the nation's economy to ensure that the youths have jobs and are well paid as this will keep them off the streets and hence reduce the problem of insecurity.

I'd look into the education sector and ensure that the education sector is up to date and there are basic amenities for better education. The issue of free education will not be left out so that the poor masses can have quality education for a better future and many more.

Thank you for going through my post.

Sort:  

Well written @alexanderpeace you really highlighted the topmost issues here. I believe every nigerian youth can relate with this.

This is beautiful dear, I hope we resolve our Nigerian problem

 3 years ago 

Amen. Thanks

Hello Thank so much for participating in the contest. I so much appreciate your input...

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62