What is enough?

in Account Booster 👍3 years ago

Being at home since March 2020 (Due to known reasons) I had loads of time to research the web about my crafts (Performing arts & Technical support in Arts). I learned some new things, but in general I was quite disappointed by the overall quality of the "educational" content. Some channels give little to no input or plain wrong knowledge (and still have 1mil subs on Youtube). So I've been in doubt to start my own channel (with value, I hope). That's why, today, I'm giving you a picture that is not taken by me, but of me. We actually bought this shot and it's publishing rights, so no plagiarism here.

_KPO5333 kopiëren.jpg
Shot by Kris Poelmans on a Nikon D4 with 70-200mm f/2.8 lens

However the question rose to mind: "When do you have enough experience to start a Youtube-channel that wants to lead the way in artistic education?"

Let me tell you about my past.

I started out as a child actor (5 years old) in 1995, doing commercials for most of the time. After a while I played some guest starred in a few soapseries, I dubbed some movies, did some modeling work, etc. The obvious choice for me was to go and study in LA to improve my craft in 2008.

In the school I went to, I had to choose a second subject and I picked photography (go figure), since I tought it was a great extra-curricular skill to have as an actor. But when I came back in Belgium, the financial crisis hit hard. Budgets for arts were cut and I decided to go to university, to have a good "Plan B".

If I can give you some advice: "Never go for Plan B", because it will always feel like and always be "Plan B".

I never graduated university. I struggled to get employment from 2010-2015, but kept going at it. In 2015 I was picked up by a theatre director, starting his own company. And I still work for him up to this day. In the meanwhile I did get other jobs and started my own company, doing acting, directing, writing, cinematography, lighting and sound.

Do you guys think this is a good base, or should I leave this for people who actually have a university diploma in these arts?

Thank you for your visit. Feedback is always welcome.

#photography #art #upfundme #actnearn #education #streaming

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You succeeded with your perseverance. Congratulations to you.

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you for your kind words @gulfuren. But is this perserverence enough to inspire other people and help them out?

 3 years ago 

Of course it's important to get an education. People with talents need to be given a chance. You inspired others. Because you set a good example.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your feedback, it really means a lot of me, having a community to rely on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63