A realistic pencil drawing with explanation

in Account Booster 👍3 years ago (edited)

20210521_183547.jpg

Hi beloved people I bring to your way a pencil piece I made using my charcoal pencils and graphite pencils.
As I am discussing, I will be putting progress shots in between paragraphs, so enjoy!!

20210520_134335.jpg

The charcoal pencil I made use of, was the generals charcoal pencil and why I like using it is because it has a chalky texture which is very friendly in blending. I usually work with the soft, extra soft and the medium. The medium is perfect for adding details and the extra soft and the soft too is perfect for shading.

20210520_143244.jpg

A very handy material for me is a tissue(I can sing for tissue😁). The work tissue does is truly out of this world so if you are having a hard time blending your works perfectly, try using a tissue. It Works well with graphite and even extra soft charcoal.

20210520_152041.jpg

So for great tools for blending, we have the tissue, tortillon and soft makeup brushes. Other artist make use of cotton bud and wool but I am actually not a fan of them.

20210520_153100.jpg

Drawing is pretty easy when you understand the form of any thing or subject you are drawing and always remember, "unless it is flat, keep it flat but if it isn't, then make it appear 3D"

20210520_160057.jpg

So if you master the forms in your subject, then you will have a great art. Take for example you are making a drawing of a cylinder, and you want it to show that it is a cylinder, what you should keep in mind is that your shading lines can never be straight lines. They are going to curve depending on the perspective to show the true nature of the cylinder.

20210520_161431.jpg

So same applies on this drawing. Try snd build forms before shading. And another thing I would like to mention is getting the right tone for your drawings.

20210520_164538.jpg

20210520_171116.jpg

I have noticed that some artist tend to over tone or undertone their skin. You shouldn't shade a light skinned person to look dark skin. So be sure to compare your reference with your drawing and make sure the skin tone matches. Let's stop there for today. I hope you learnt a thing or two.

Have a good one guys

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 3 years ago 

Thank you art venture. This means a whole lot to me

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

As always you are very good in expression of faces, that makes the portrait looking lively :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thanks you so much for always appreciating my works and also supporting as well. I do feel honoured all the time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83