How I scored my first goal during a football match in college**

in Account Booster 👍3 years ago

Sharing stories about my life have really been interesting to me, because I relive moments again through narratives. I am full of enthusiasm as I share this story

Hello Steemians, trust y'all are having a nice time on this platform, so am I. I will be giving a narrative of How I scored my first goal during a football match in college

MY STORY

My story starts with a little background of my love for soccer as a sport entirely, in my previous school I always played soccer and was a member of the school team. Subsequently, due to some reasons, I changed my school to an entirely different one, a totally new environment with totally new faces. Definitely i was excited about the new environment but also I was nervous about it all. Second to my education, playing soccer was one of my driving forces in school. But nevertheless I didn't let the change of environment be a stumbling block for my love for soccer.

Screenshot_20200327-001019_Gallery.jpg

I purchased a new set of soccer boots and quickly adapted to a new environment where I began to showcase my skills to the higher ups who were responsible for the selection of players from my category that would represent the department. Although, I never got the chance to play in a competitive match due to the already known players, I was always selected and always watched the match from the bench, hoping for some sort of miracle to showcase myself to the general public and have fun.

THE DAY OF THE MIRACLE

On one of the occasions, where my faculty, the faculty of law faced off against the faculty of media studies, this match happens to be the biggest in the school and is seen as somewhat of a derby as the turnout of spectators usually are in high numbers. Although, was our last match before the coming examinations, it coincidentally took place on my birthday. I have this thing of scoring a goal or two on my birthdays, no matter the competition or opponent being faced.

IMG-20210613-WA0061.jpg

Once more, I was selected to play with the squad but as usual to be a substitute player, meaning I had to sit on the bench and be ready to come on for someone else and this barely happens to me. So here is the miracle. My faculty team were already a goal down by half time and the player which I was a substitute for began to complain to the coach about some discomforts on his knee and how he couldn't carry on with the match. Then I was called upon by the coach who watched me closely during the training sessions, "you're about to come on, make the most out of it, it is a very competitive team and an important match also, chances like this don't come by easily, make the most out of it." Said the team coach to me. After a series of light warm ups, I got into the field for the second half, having in mind that I had a point to prove.

THE MATCH

Although I am someone who does well under pressure, especially when it comes to football, this one did feel a bit different probably because of the new environment and the opposition fans taunting me. In no time I got myself into the game, dribbling past two defenders, I was face to face with the out running goal keeper who clipped my leg and committed a foul. A penalty was awarded. Although I did not play the penalty, but the team's penalty taker converted the spot kick and we were level.

THE GOAL

Having already made a statement by causing a penalty, the spectators were always have to see me get om the ball as I always tend to perform tricks and beat a couple of opposition players. Now, the opposition had a corner kick which they failed to convert. It was a counter attack! I received the ball through a neatly made pass and began to run. The opposition defenders were on the back foot, it was just me and the opposition goal keeper. Surely I scored the goal, playing the ball into the bottom left corner and that was the last kick of the game. We won!

Everyone gathered around me lifting me up as the match winner after inspiring a comeback. I guess my birthday luck never fails me after all. The coach came to and hugged me saying "Thank you". It was a very important match and I could tell from the oppositions reaction.

CONCLUSION

This story remains one which I can tell on numerous occasions without getting tired and I really hope someone out there gets that opportunity to show that skill or talent he/she has to the general public.

THE END

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78