Accidents will happen...

in Motorcycles & Trips4 years ago

...so what do we do? What else except belief in the "all the gear all the time" religion and driving without forgetting that we are far from invincible.

In these non travel friendly days we all live in I got asked by a biker:

You ever been in the air long enough to think "oh shit, this is going to hurt"?

Easy to answer as I'll never forget that moment so here's my reply:

" Oh yeah. Fortunately only once and looong ago. I was cut off by a car coming from the opposite as the driver didn't check or slow down at all to enter a vertical street. In no time I am on my DT200 one finger away from the hood and the next fraction of time finds me and the bike flying over the car. I recall seeing the sky and the tarmac several times while airborne before landing many meters away from the car. Two guys from Zaire step out of it (the driver and his friend) and come running to me surprised by the fact I was just undusting myself with a broken helmet still on my head. In less than a minute, on the possibility of police arriving at the scene, the passenger disappeared leaving the driver alone who was feeling more than lucky he hadn't killed anyone (or one more?) yet. Why I say so? When I called his insurance company they told me "which accident are you talking about cause he had 2 in the last week...". Unlucky to meet him, super extra lucky to skip this with only a couple of bruises, biggest one being on my right foot caused by the clutch cover's punch..."

Isn't it nice when you have just the story to recall but no severe injuries? That's the pros of being fit and light (apart from lucky in the first place of course). Actually my bike at that time skipped severe damages for the same reason - it was almost half the weight of my current one. I was even able to ride it back home!

Got stories like this to tell? Bring it on!

Stay safe everyone, indoors or outdoors.

Sort:  

Wow! I am glad your were not severely hurt. They say it's better to be lucky then good, I pray for both..LOL

Haha true :) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50