Sing and Play 135 - The Raggle Taggle Gypsy - A Traditional Scots/Irish folk song. @jubei333steemCreated with Sketch.

in Dance and music show3 years ago (edited)

Hey music lovers

For this weeks sing and play I want to share a traditional old folk song that dates back to the 1700s.

Its called the Raggle Taggle Gypsy...

"The Raggle Taggle Gypsy"

There were three auld gypsies came to our hall door.
They came brave and boldly-o.
And one sang high and the other sang low
And the other sang a raggle taggle gypsy-o.

It was upstairs, downstairs the lady went,
Put on her coat of leather-o,
And there came a cry from around her door;
“She’s away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o”

It was late that night when the lord came in,
Enquiring for his lady-o,
And the servant girl’s reply to him was;
“She’s away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o”

“Then saddle for me my milk-white steed
Me big horse is not speedy-o
And I will ride and I’ll seek me bride,
She’s away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o”

He rode east and he rode west
He rode north and south also,
And when he rode to the wide open field
It was there that he spied his lady-o.

“How could you leave your house and your land,
How could you you leave your money-o?
How could you leave your only wedded lord
All for the raggle taggle gypsy-o?”

“What care I for me house and me land?
What care I for money-o?
Id rather have a kiss from a yellow gypsies lips?
I’m away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o”

“How could you leave your goose feather bed,
Blankets strewn so comely-o.
And how could you leave your old wedded lord
All for a raggle taggle gypsy-o”

“What care I for me goose feather bed?
what care I for blankets-o?
Tonight I lie in a wild open field?
I’m away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o”

Sort:  

Great performance, this song fits the right way with your voice, it's very good.

Oye... Una interpretación muy especial la tuya.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33