Public Service Broadcasting - Three Tune Tuesday - Song Recommendations Week 42

20210504_140532.jpg

Go.

That is what came on shuffle on my Playlist today and I remembered again what a class tune it is, a song from London-based musical group Public Service Broadcasting. They are a damn good band made up of J. Willgoose on guitar, banjo, various other stringed instruments, publicly available voice samples and electronic musical instruments. We have Wrigglesworth then on drums, piano and electronic musical instruments and J F Abraham on bass guitar, drums and some mad instruments like the flugelhorn and Vibraslap.

Here is a Vibraslap

image.png

Here is a Flugelhorn

image.png

For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday....

The jist is as follows

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #ttt or #threetunetuesday tags that would be great. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music.

Here are my week forty two recommendations for Three Tune Tuesday

** Drum roll please.....**

Public Service Broadcasting - Go!

I simply love this song and I'm hoping that at least some of you have never heard it before, and enjoy the visual and the aural experience. Everybody knows about the moon landing back in 1969 and this song mixes audio from this mission with guitars, drums and other instruments to deliver a unique end product which I liked the first time I heard it and still like today.

[Public Affairs Officer]
This is Apollo Control at 102 hours into the flight of Apollo 11
It's grown quite quiet here in Mission Control
A few moments ago flight director Gene Kranz requested that everyone sit down
Get prepared for events that are coming
And he closed with a remark of good luck to all of you

[PAO]
12 minutes now until ignition for powered descent
Everything's still looking very good at this point

[Gene Kranz]
OK, all flight controllers go-no-go for powered descent

[Chorus]
Retro? Go
FIDO? Go
Guidance? Go
Control? Go
TELCOM? Go
GNC? Go
EECOM? Go
Surgeon? Go

[Kranz]
CAPCOM we're go for powered descent

[PAO]
We're off to a good start, play it cool

[Kranz]
OK flight controllers, I'm going around the horn
OK...

[Chorus]
Retro? Go
FIDO? Go
Guidance? Go
Control? Go
TELCOM? Go
GNC? Go
EECOM? Go
Surgeon? Go
Retro? Go
FIDO? Go
Guidance? Go
Control? Go
TELCOM? Go
GNC? Go
EECOM? Go
Surgeon? Go

[Kranz]
CAPCOM we're go for landing
OK everybody lets hang tight, look for the landing radar

[Aldrin]
75 feet. Down a half
[Duke]
12 02 alarm
[Duke]
60 seconds
[Bales]
We're... we're GO on that, Flight
[Kranz]
We're GO on that alarm?
[Aldrin]
30 feet down, 2 and a half
[Bales]
It's... If it doesn't reoccur, we'll be GO
[Kranz]
30 seconds
[Aldrin]
12 01
[Bales]
12 01
[Duke]
Roger, 12 01 alarm

[Kranz]
12 01 alarm
[Bales]
Same type, we're GO, Flight
[Kranz]
Ok, we're go
[Carlton]
We've had shutdown

For Those I Love - Brendan

Skip forward to 8:53 to listen to just Everest or listen to the whole thing, sure you're an adult, you can do what you like, go suck an egg while balancing an ironing board on your chin if you want, but if that's not your thing, sit down and listen to Everest in this great little Tiny Desk Concerts feature from Public Service Broadcasting filmed back in May 2014

For Those I Love - To Have You

So, as you'll have noticed by now, these guys don't speak or sing a word, they basically just add instruments to news broadcasts from between the 1940s and 1960s and for me it's feckin class and if I was making music, this would be what I would experiment in, mixing samples of all sorts in with instruments and seeing where it took me.

This last one is tied to the moon also, with the lads adding layers of instruments over the public service broadcast. It relates to the Apollo 8 mission, which was the first crewed spacecraft to leave low Earth orbit, and also the first human spaceflight to reach another astronomical object, namely the Moon, which the crew orbited without landing, and then departed safely back to Earth.

Well, I'm going to safely depart now myself, do enjoy the tunes.

ThreeTune Spotify Playlist

Our food friend and regular Three Tune Tuesday poster @blackdaisyft adds the ThreeTuneTuesday songs to an ever increasing Spotify playlist every week which you can check out here:

Three Tune Tuesday Spotify Playlist

SBI contest

Share your Three Tune Tuesday songs below or create a post with #ttt or #threetunetuesday and mention me so I can find the post.

Sin é, That's all folks, thanks for stopping by.

Thats all.jpg

That's it for another week. Those are your three songs for week forty two. Let me know what you think - good, bad or indifferent? Did you like them all or just one or two?

Also, as I said before, I love getting good steers for new tunes, so please tell me about the latest and greatest from your playlist below and I'll be sure to check em out.

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone.

Peace Out

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

TRANSACTION
16/03/2022, 00:28:33

Transaction ID:
fdb3e3bd711af6112d66d309b4a749ef6d8d3aa7

Sidechain Block: 9924761

From: @donatello
To: @ablaze

Amount: - 1 DAM

Memo: I can't give you a bigger upvote because I'm upvoting too many posts. Feel free to exchange your DAM for STEEM.

Thanks very much, I am happy to get any support and you always support my Music posts, so thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45