Contest: Your Best Childhood Memory 🤗

in Steem Argentina2 years ago

Screenshot_20220123-224452.png

Greetings @fendit and the whole Steem Argentina community. It really feels exciting taking part in this contest.


Childhood is so blessed and beautiful, my most treasured memorable was that of a gift i got.

IMG_20210803_080258_4.jpg

IMAGE: Much younger self

I lived with my family in a rural area known as Ajegunle in Lagos, Nigeria. There were a lot of kids in the neighbourhood even in the six- storey compound building we shared with other neighbours where we had a flat.

Almost every child had a bicycle to him or herself, and typical childish instinct, i wanted mine too.

I was six, and it wasn't long i had started to bug my parents about this issue, but it was as though they didn't give a listening ear.

Oh! How i felt this pang of envy when other children came out in front of our large playground in the yard and rode round with their bicycle, riding away happily, sometimes they did games of race.

They did let me ride their bike if i begged, and it got me wishing it was mine. I became angry with my parents and would bite at every chance, sadly to me, they still did not look my way.

Gradually, i came to terms with the fact that i may never own a bicycle of my own. I finally let it go and forged through like any six year old would.
We were in the final session of elementary school for that term, i wrote my exams and was done with it, anticipating the forthcoming holidays.

Our school end of the year party came, we got our results after the party and dismissed for the term.
I headed home, unaware of the surprise that awaited.

It was my Mum's smile that first gave her off, she smiled and hugged me, telling me how well i performed in my studies, my dad came in too and i was full of praises for my outstanding performance.

My dad said he got me a gift, and it was in my room, i ran to check, and behold when i stepped in, i saw a beautiful brand new bicycle leaning by the wall, my excitement couldn't be contained

I screamed, jumped, danced. Finally my wish became reality. A photo was taken thankfully which now plays out in my story today.

My gift was a lovely bicycle i had always wanted, and i got.

Now i was able to play out with other kids with pride in the yard, went on errands in my bike, it was such a distinct childhood memory i cannot erase in a hurry.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you for being part of this week's contest!

Steem Argentina.

What an interesting story

Wow, that's great news. Am telling you this is not something you can forget in a hurry

Haha.... very true my friend

Thanks so much dear

Que buen recuerdo yo también recuerdo el día que me regalaron mi primera bicicleta fue inolvudable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56740.37
ETH 3000.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19