What does my nickname mean?

in Steem Argentina3 years ago

IMG_20210721_013313.jpg

Papi.mati



My nickname is very simple and easy to remember. It's basically made of two words:

1️⃣ Papi



Which means "daddy" in Spanish, but in some places like Colombia or Venezuela or any Caribbean countries it is in use as the kind way to call someone. I guess it could be translated as "my dear" or "sweety".

I am Polish, but my family is multicultural. I'm poliamorist, I'm having four boyfriends, three of them are Venezuelan. Including the word from Castillano, was the way to show the importante od the Venezuelan culture for me.

I may not be the father, but I'm being "sweety" most of the time 😁


2️⃣ Mati



That part would be taken from my name, Mateusz. "Mati" is a cute shortcut, used by my family and some of the closest friends. Using that shortcut shows that I treat steemit as the family or close friends at least.

My name, Mateusz, is the same as English Matthew or Spanish Mateo. In late 80's and early 90's it was very popular in Poland. Right now not too many kids have it. I'm okay with that, although since I live in Argentina I have plenty of problems with explaining that last two letters "sz" is not a mistake but the correct way to write it. Still, it's easier to understand and write down than the name of my husband, which is Krzysztof (Chris) 😁


Summary



I assumed it will be simple nickname, easy to remember by the others. Many Steemians is writing it wrong though - they are making mistake or, their phones changes my name authomatically.
I was already called

  • papa.mati
  • pipi.mati
  • papi.muerte
  • papa.maní

It doesn't disturb me though, I may be called anyhow, as long as people talk about me well :)

CC:
@belenguerra
@fendit

Sort:  

Me encanta la parte en que ud. es multicultural lo que es fantástico, pues puede entender varias formas de comportamiento sin que le ofenda nada del mismo.🤗👌 Gracias por su dulce historia amigo @papi.mati

I love the part where you. It is multicultural which is fantastic, because it can understand various forms of behavior without being offended by any of it.🤗👌 Thanks for your sweet story friend @ papi.mati

True, more cultures we meet and more people with different life experiences we talk with, more opened we became and that actually helps a lot in understanding the world :) thank you for your great comment!


Es cierto, más culturas que conocemos y más personas con diferentes experiencias de vida con las que hablamos, nos abrimos más y eso realmente ayuda mucho a entender el mundo :) ¡Gracias por tu gran comentario!

Agradecida 🤗 @papi.mati siga Brillando 🌟💫🙏

 3 years ago 

Loooooooooool, did someone really call you papa.mani?? That's hilarious... and certainly nothing to do with your username! :P
Still, I find it really cute that you took into account how your boyfriends call you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25