THIS WEEK'S CONTEST: What's the story behind your username?? 🤩🤩 // CONCURSO SEMANAL: Cuál es la historia detrás de tu nombre de usuario?? 🤩🤩 By @lhorgic

in Steem Argentina3 years ago

Am happy to be part of this awesome contest. Thanks so much for coming up with such an engaging contest. Below is my entry

How I came up with my username

My username @lhorgic is a nick name I got back then in high school. My sit mate and I are considered to be smart set of people,the way we reasoned was quite different from the way other did,we were known for looking out for our simple way of communicating big idea in such a way that people around us grabs it and as time went on my class mates observed both of us and notice that it's my sit mate that actually studies a thing while I do more of reasoning and brain work so they nicknamed my sit mate study while they nicknamed me logic and so we answered to the name from that day even until I graduated.

After school I continue using the name even on Facebook till date but as time when on,I decided to modify the name by customizing the letters so I decided to change it to "lhorgic" it sounds the same way but different spelling,I just loved it that way and continued with so much so that even when I was about registering for steemit,I used it.

Did someone else help you

My classmate then actually suggested the name based on what they observed about me and my sit mate so I would say they gave us the name which really matched us at that time and even now. I'm still as bright as I use to be.

Do you like it or you wish you had sign up with another one?

I love my username but on getting to steemit I noticed a challenge that I might have to put up with for a very long time unless I find a way out of it and this alone makes me feel I makes me feel I chose the wrong username on steemit.

The challenge is this;
My username is @lhorgic (as in Lhorgic) but people assume the first letter of my name is "i" instead of "l"...so people mistake my letter "L" in the lower case as "I" in the lower case and then call me @ihorgic. It make me feel bad,infact someone still fit that today,I wouldn't blame anyone,it is just the way the letters appears and it also because we can use upper case letter which would have made it simple as @Lhorgic.
See screenshot below of someone who still made the mistake today

Did you think of some other options before choosing it?

No I didn't and that because I loved the name but right now if there is a way out of this confusion I will gladly embrace it and make the name something simpler and easy to grasp without any form of
confusion.

It's frustrating knowing that the username I love is now giving me some sort of headache here... sometimes ago someone wanted to send me about 84 steems and mistakenly sent it to a wrong username because of the misconception in the first letter of my name which look somewhat alike in the lower case. We had to raise a ticket before it was rectified.
Below is the screenshot of my conversation with a fellow steemians.

Conclusion

If here is something I need to fix here on steemit then it will be a modification in my username in such a way that everyone can easily grasp without any misconception.

Thanks for reading through my post.

Cc: @belenguerra
Cc: @fendit

Sort:  

The way to explain the errors with your username are well founded, you know something your User is Great, but you should change it, just make the exception to the people who are going to carry out negotiations with you. but if you feel a lot of pressure should add a number at the end, humble idea.
Excellent post 🤗👌

La forma de explicar los errores con su nombre de usuario están bien fundamentadas, sabe algo su Usuario es Genial, bo deberia cambiarlo, solo hacer la salvedad a las personas que van a realizar negociaciones con ud. pero si ud. siente mucha presión debería agregar un número al final, humilde idea.
Excelente publicación 🤗👌

Thanks for showing concern @teretiti. Gracias♥️

 3 years ago 

Felicitaciones por ser uno de los ganadores de esta semana!

Gracias por ser parte de la comunidad!
Steem Argentina.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63