[Contest] A Story Behind My Username - Jun.Imaginer

Contest .gif

What's The Story Behind My Username?!

Hi Steem Argentina Community, buenas noches....
The story goes like this...

  @jun.imaginer appeared for the first time on the internet when I registered for Facebook in May 2009 along with my g-mail account using that username too. It may also have appeared before that when I previously messed around on Friendster and MySpace (remember those guys!?), but I can't verify it because I don't know if there's still a post left.


  How do I come up with Jun Imaginer? Let me break it down.

  Because my real name only has one word, I consider making a username with two words, first by my nickname and last with some random word that describes or that has a bit of my characteristic and at the same time look and sounds cool. I guess, haha.

  "Jun" is an abbreviation or nickname of Juanda, my birth name. Like Michael to Mike. Juanda if pronounced in Indonesian: Ju- (jo͞o) -an- or -(w)an- (wən) -da (də). Generally in Indonesia, as far as I know, the nickname for Juanda is shortened to Wanda, but there's a stand alone name for Wanda itself. Wanda has also been my nickname from my family since I was little but I don't like being called that, because it sounds girly, evidently Wanda was one of the characters based on the Marvel Comics character; Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch.

  Juanda has three syllables, Ju-an-da like I mentioned before. It sounds weird to be called by each of one syllable (Ju, An or Da). Well, I don't remember exactly when it started, but my primary school’s friend by the name Agung called my name “Jun”. Instead of Ju or Juan pronounced "Whooahn" in one syllable in Spanish phonetic. Jun sounds much better than Ju to me. So I keep it that way and I introduce myself to others by the nickname Jun.

Another thing, I prefer using dot (.) as a separator, conjugated between two words instead of underscore (_) or hyphen/dash/minus sign (-) to simplify when asked.

  That’s it for Jun, now move along to "Imaginer".

ji pb.png

  “Imaginer”, hmmm...Sounds cringey right!? I know, but lemme tell you somethin’

  When Facebook was booming since it’s accessible in Indonesia in 2008, everyone created an FB account. I already have an awareness that I can’t truly open to anonymous “people” on the web, sharing my bio; real name, date of birth and stuff. Identity theft occurred by an ignorance of the user. That's what I thought since back then.


Timphan by Cita Rasa Atjeh on CookPad

  So I must invent a made up name, I have Jun as my first name, and for the last name, some other options, I came up with “Timphanovich” (Timphan: a type of snack that comes from Aceh, my hometown where I came from. The ingredients for making timphan consist of flour, banana, and coconut milk. All of these ingredients are then stirred until they are chewy. Then it is made lengthwise and inside it is filled with serikaya or grated coconut mixed with sugar or Durian for special occasion. And -novich or (Novik: a historical Russian term meaning a teenager from a noble, boyar, or cossack family enlisted in the army or Opolchenie. This term, normally used in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, may have come from the word "noviy", or "new" in Russian (Russian: Новый). I just combined those two words to make it sound cool. It just lasted for a few days and I changed to another because the word are too long.

  Second option that I came up with was, “Melancholic” (Jun Melancholic) based on the result from the OSPP Four Temperaments Test that I took at that time.

OSPP Temperament Test Diagram.JPGOSPP Four Temperaments Test Diagram by Jim Abbondanteon WordPress

  When I searched for an OSPP diagram, I took the test again and the result surprised me. I used to be Melancholic and now I turned to Choleric, well I know it isn’t a fixed description of my personality, it’s just a tendency. Maybe my mood right now has an impact on the test. If I take the test again, perhaps it will show another result. I think so.

OSSP Test Result.JPGClick to test yourself

  Well, back to Jun Melancholic, the “thoughtful” side of me makes that Melancholic kinda you know, meh. Then I changed to "The Thinker" but because “Thinker” is a strong and heavy word, I can’t bear that name so it's transformed from “think” to something mild and joyful word like imagination > adding -er suffix; imaginer > "The Imaginer".

Just Facebook.gif

GIF by Tenor

  At the end, I drop the 'The', just Imaginer, it's cleaner. FYI, I did it way before that movie. It's just coincidence, trust me. haha. No! seriously, I mean it. Okay!

jun.imaginer

  So... That's all folk the story behind my username.
What say you?

just imagine_1.png

Honorable mentions to :
@fendit
Who organize this contest
and to those Leadership from
Steem Argentina Community
@belenguerra & @fendit

.......

and shoutout to my buddies from
Team Support Steemit :
@only.home @mc-jack @lord-geraldi @arieffadly88 @pieasant @omarkhayyam @hendrasusoh @bonbons @pujiaman @qhamal @daengmarwan and @rizkiblangpadang
I invite you guys to participate in this contest

Sort:  

Oh jdi gtu asal muasal nya bg 🤔🤔🤔

Begitulah kira-kira...
haha

Sep panyang sejarah jih 🤣

imaginer ni wak.... bukan kaleng kaleng 😁

 3 years ago 

Felicitaciones por ser uno de los ganadores de esta semana!

Gracias por ser parte de la comunidad!
Steem Argentina.

Thankyou @fendit..

Wow. it's an honour to be ones of the winner.

Keep up the good work and Steem Argentina go stronger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35