My Favourite Nigerian Song

in Steem Argentina3 years ago

Hi great Steemians

I am always delighted to share some thoughts here. I have always cherished every opportunity to talk about my favourite song and artiste. Over here in Nigeria, the music industry is a very big one. In fact I believe it is the biggest in Africa. The number of trending contemporary artistes is simply enormous. Also, the diversity of the music industry in terms of art and genre is truly wide.

The Nigerian music industry is so broad that an index of the number of artiste and their songs is becoming increasingly difficult to compute. Concurrently, up and coming stars are taking centre stage in the industry.

I have a whole lot of Nigerian musicians that I so much love their songs. However talking about contemporary artistes and music making, I would readily choose Johnny Drille. That is actually his stage name. His real name is John Ighodaro. He was born on July 5, 1990.

I will have to be giving you screenshots of my music player as i don't want to use stock photos.

Screenshot_20210423-093407.png
He is always on the playlist. I really don't follow the new crop of artiste, but this guy stands out.

Johnny Drille's popularity began with the release of "Awww" which was a cover if the real song by Di'Ja . I believe he is simply awesome which is why he is contracted to Mavin Records which is a very popular and top record label here in Nigeria.
I will not want to continue to bore you with so much biography so I will simply proceed to telling you which of his songs I love most.

Actually, this is a really difficult task for. I have never had to choose which of his songs was my favourite until now. The difficulty is really in the fact that I seem to so much love a good number of his songs. I actually have a special folder where I exclusively keep his songs and play them as a group without skipping any.
Screenshot_20210423-014718.png
His folder has a special place among my favourite musicians

Johnny Drille's first official song was in 2015, "wait for me". He has gone on to record about 16 singles and number of covers. I have nine of them and I stream his songs regular on the net. Honestly I wished I could avoid making a choice among his songs. However since I have to, I would take his the one I actually mentioned above, " wait for me".
"Wait for me" by Johnny Drille just like most of his other songs has a deep message that resonates so well with me.

Naturally I love good songs about love, but this has a different dimension to it. It tells the Nigerian story. Where a man will happen to find love, but due to financial constraints will have to abandon his lover and go off to make money and make something out of himself while hoping to return and meet his lover.
It is actually a very sad story line but it is what is prevalent here.

I so much love the song because of his choice of lyrics. The harmony, sound and rendition is just so wonderful. The tone he uses to address the lady is awesome. Truly, Johnny Drille has a way of making his songs sound so vivid and real. You might be lifted to some emotional ecstasy if you are not very cautious.

Screenshot_20210423-014617.png
I have a total of nine songs from him. Still planning to add more.

I want to believe it is needless for me to proceed to dropping his lyrics here as you can check that out for yourself. Definitely, if you appreciate good music, you will fall in love with the guy's tunes.

I was literally asking, "who is this guy?", when I first heard a song by him. You just need to imagine the scramble I was in just to find out who he was. When I was able to finally catch him, I was amazed.

Earnestly, I was captivated by his songs such that I hungrily anticipate every of his intended release.

So dear Steemians, I give to you " wait for me" by my dearly beloved Johnny Drille.

@belenguerra
@fendit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64